Jenny's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
I've been coming to AllRecipes.com for a couple years now, and while so many recipes are wonderful this is the FIRST time I felt so inclined to return to write a review. The flavor and kick was just what I was looking for in a jambalya receipe. The family can't shovel it in fast enough. Mmmmmm good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Very good recipe, though I did make some alterations. I use 2 cans of tomatoes and green chilis (I like my jambalaya with a kick to it)instead of the stewed tomatoes, I use either smoked sausage or kielbasa instead of the sausage links, and I increase the rice to 2 cups with 4 cups of broths (I have a big family). Though I do reduce the hot sauce to 1 teaspoon if it is good quality hot sauce, but if you use generic or "not-so-hot" hot sauce then you can use the full 1 Tablespoon. I also add 1/4 teaspoon cajun seasoning and 1/4 teaspoon thyme if I have it on hand. Chicken breast is optional, good either with or without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I used chorizo sausage with this recipe which I cut into one inch pieces and browned in my cast iron dutch oven. I removed the sausage and quickly sauteed my shrimp which I had already seasoned with Emerils essence. I removed the shrimp just before it was completely done and added my onions, plus scallions and two chopped green bell peppers and cooked until soft. I then added the tomatoes, sausage and rice and simmered until cooked thru. The shrimp went in during the last five minutes of cooking. Delicious and thanks for a great start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Very yummy! I didn't use onions because I'm the only one in my family who will eat them. I also used chicken sausage and added bacon (the meats I had around) but otherwise stayed true to the recipe. This dish was even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manchester, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Great recipe, made a few small changes. I made it on the stovetop. Used 2 cans chick broth instead of 3 cups. I also put in 3 stalks diced celery. Instead of already cooked chicken I added about 1lb raw chicken tenders cut in chunks. Ended up cooking it at a simmer for around an hour until the rice was tender. I added cooked shrimp at the end just before serving so it just warmed through. Will definitely add it to my list of regularly made recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Update: 3-18-2009 I halved the recipe since there are only two of us. I used 2 cups leftover chopped up turkey for the the chicken. I sauteed the onion and then added 3 links of hot Italian turkey sausage raw and cooked until almost done. Then I followed the recipe adding the other elements and actually using real rice this time. I added a little more garlic powder and tabasco than it says for half a recipe and I used frozen already peeled/cooked shrimp. When there were about 8 min. left I put the still frozen shrimp into the pot. They were medium sized so I would use less time or more depending on the size. It was much less watery and the leftovers were delicious (instead of tolerable). So easy and I still don't have an electric skillet but it was still very little clean up. 2-15 2007 I had no electric skillet and I didn't want to make as much as this said so my methods were a bit different. I took one large onion and sauteed in the oil. I used 2 boil in bag instant rice and boiled this and set aside. With the remaining water i dumped most and then added 1 can of chicken broth to about half a cup of the starchy water. I didn't have leftover chicken breast so I boiled that in the chicken breast and shredded it in th pan. While the chicken was boiling I took the entire pound of hot turkey sausage and browned it with the onion (crumbled) and one clove of garlic plus garlic powder. Once this was done I used one can of stewed tomatoes drained and added it to the sausage. Onc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
As the famous "RR" would say, YUM-MO! Came out very hearty, we loved it! What we also love is sopping the juices up with bread, so I may skip draining the tomatoes and/or adding more broth next time. This would be great for a party. Will make this again & again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina B. Cookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
Outstanding and simple dish. Cooks perfectly in an electic fry pan. To use brown rice be sure to cook at least 30 minutes and keep an eye on the liquid, you may have to add more. Also don't add the shrimp till the last 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terry ny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was really good. I added a chopped bell pepper and minced fresh garlic with the onion and didn't drain the tomatoes for extra sauce. Good leftover too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
WOW! This was good! I made this with Trader Joe's cajun chicken sausage and it worked well. When finished, this easily filled a 9 x 13 serving dish and fed 8-10 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States