Jenny's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2001
This is so great I have passed the recipe on to several friends. My kids love it as do we.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
my husband really liked this. I added extra tabasco as we prefer spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
I've been coming to AllRecipes.com for a couple years now, and while so many recipes are wonderful this is the FIRST time I felt so inclined to return to write a review. The flavor and kick was just what I was looking for in a jambalya receipe. The family can't shovel it in fast enough. Mmmmmm good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
Did we have the same recipe? I usually cook great jambalaya's, but nobody in the family liked this as much as my other ones. In fact, they didn't like it at all! This is the first bad review I've ever given!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
Give this recipe a try! It was fast and easy to prepare, and tastes great. We substituted a different type of smoked sausage(really wanted to try andouille in it, but couldn't find any), and left out the onions, but basically we stuck to the plan. It didn't take all night to prepare & the taste really hits the spot. I'll make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
Really tasty! I've made it several times, though I use andouille sausage to add a little kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
This was a great recipe. My husband and daughter loved it, even though they were reluctant to try it at first. I used smoked turkey sausage in mine. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
This recipe has been a great success in my family of many teenagers!!! It's quick, easy and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Very good recipe, though I did make some alterations. I use 2 cans of tomatoes and green chilis (I like my jambalaya with a kick to it)instead of the stewed tomatoes, I use either smoked sausage or kielbasa instead of the sausage links, and I increase the rice to 2 cups with 4 cups of broths (I have a big family). Though I do reduce the hot sauce to 1 teaspoon if it is good quality hot sauce, but if you use generic or "not-so-hot" hot sauce then you can use the full 1 Tablespoon. I also add 1/4 teaspoon cajun seasoning and 1/4 teaspoon thyme if I have it on hand. Chicken breast is optional, good either with or without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Yum! My husband really loved this. But I used a can of tomatoes with green chiles, and that made it too hot for our 2 and 4 year olds. My 2-year-old loved the shrimp. He kept asking for "more hot dog." (one expensive hot dog, huh?) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States