Jenny's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I was not able to use an electric skillet as the recipe called for, instead I used the stove-top equivalent. That was the only adjustment I made in this recipe. This recipe gets three stars (instead of one or two) from me because it turned out and was edible. I've been looking for a great jambalaya recipe and will definitely keep looking. It just wasn't anything special or even all that great. Additionally, there is absolutely no reason to cook shrimp for 20-25 minutes. In a heated covered pot, shrimp will cook in just a few minutes. I can't imagine a scenario when over 10 minutes would be necessary. The 20-25 minutes made the texture of the shrimp quite unfortunate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was great! WE don't like extra spicy dishes, so I just left out the Cajun Seasoning. We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I made this last night after doing a quick search for something I could make with the random items I had on hand. It was DELICIOUS and will definitely become a part of my repertoire. I don't think you could really mess this up, but here's what I used since I didn't have all of the exact ingredients: diced tomatoes instead of stewed, Pete's hot sauce, leftover rotisserie chicken, frozen pre-cooked shrimp, full-sized turkey sausage, 1/2 an onion, water w/ chicken boullion cube instead of chicken stock, white rice, and extra garlic - always! I also used a regular chef's pan with a lid because I don't have an electric skillet, and it was fine. I might add a dash of cajun seasoning or Old Bay next time, just to add some more depth to the flavor, but overall it was GREAT! Thanks Jenny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Too much food and there was something not right about it - it was missing something - there was too much tomato and using the hot sauce to make it hot tasted fake. I won't try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Awesome!!! What a great base for a jambalaya! I made some changes-added a red bell pepper- didn't use chicken at all- threw in some ham- used turkey smoked sausage - shrimp and basically cut the recipe in 1/2. This is some of the best jambalaya I've ever made! Such a good and easy recipe to personalize!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I LOVE this recipe! I made this for a party & everyone commented on how much they liked it. I sometimes substitute minute rice for the long grained rice & I added some fresh minced garlic. EXCELLENT! Thanks for the great recipe! One of my FAVORITES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Superb! This is so hearty and filling, and if there are left-overs, they taste even better the next day! We like to use wild rice, and sometimes we add a can of clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This was fantastic! My first time making Jambalaya. My step mom who is the most picky eater, had seconds or thirds! Next time, I think I will add a couple cloves of garlic as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Made this exactly but with our chicken sausage (ungrilled) and shrimp. It was easy, and good, but could use more tobasco sauce. I liked it, and it was good and easy. We burned the bottom of the pan though (badly) and ended up wasting a lot of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
My friend and I loved this Jambalaya! I actually cooked the rice first because I was afraid sausage and chicken would be over cooked, it turned out great. I substituted salt with powder chick stock, it brought out a lot more flavor rather than just salty. It was very tasty! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States