Jenny's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Very tasty dish. Everyone had a second serving. I omitted the chicken, just used chicken sausage and shrimp. Added 3 small red bell peppers and 2 garlic cloves. Also used brown basmati rice instead of plain white rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Used turkey kielbasa and omitted the shrimp (seafood allergy). Doubled the hot sauce (Frank's RedHot). Husband gave it rave reviews and asked me to add this to our usual rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I was not able to use an electric skillet as the recipe called for, instead I used the stove-top equivalent. That was the only adjustment I made in this recipe. This recipe gets three stars (instead of one or two) from me because it turned out and was edible. I've been looking for a great jambalaya recipe and will definitely keep looking. It just wasn't anything special or even all that great. Additionally, there is absolutely no reason to cook shrimp for 20-25 minutes. In a heated covered pot, shrimp will cook in just a few minutes. I can't imagine a scenario when over 10 minutes would be necessary. The 20-25 minutes made the texture of the shrimp quite unfortunate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This was great! WE don't like extra spicy dishes, so I just left out the Cajun Seasoning. We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Mayer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I made this last night after doing a quick search for something I could make with the random items I had on hand. It was DELICIOUS and will definitely become a part of my repertoire. I don't think you could really mess this up, but here's what I used since I didn't have all of the exact ingredients: diced tomatoes instead of stewed, Pete's hot sauce, leftover rotisserie chicken, frozen pre-cooked shrimp, full-sized turkey sausage, 1/2 an onion, water w/ chicken boullion cube instead of chicken stock, white rice, and extra garlic - always! I also used a regular chef's pan with a lid because I don't have an electric skillet, and it was fine. I might add a dash of cajun seasoning or Old Bay next time, just to add some more depth to the flavor, but overall it was GREAT! Thanks Jenny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Too much food and there was something not right about it - it was missing something - there was too much tomato and using the hot sauce to make it hot tasted fake. I won't try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Awesome!!! What a great base for a jambalaya! I made some changes-added a red bell pepper- didn't use chicken at all- threw in some ham- used turkey smoked sausage - shrimp and basically cut the recipe in 1/2. This is some of the best jambalaya I've ever made! Such a good and easy recipe to personalize!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I LOVE this recipe! I made this for a party & everyone commented on how much they liked it. I sometimes substitute minute rice for the long grained rice & I added some fresh minced garlic. EXCELLENT! Thanks for the great recipe! One of my FAVORITES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Superb! This is so hearty and filling, and if there are left-overs, they taste even better the next day! We like to use wild rice, and sometimes we add a can of clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This was fantastic! My first time making Jambalaya. My step mom who is the most picky eater, had seconds or thirds!. . .I've made this several times now. I added one diced green pepper, a few cloves of garlic, and doubled the rice, tomatoes, broth, and spices because otherwise it is just too meat dense (as much as I love meat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States