Jenny's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
My wife loved it. I would prefer a little more zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Great basic recipe, but needs to be jazzed up a bit. I used fresh garlic, added a chopped green pepper, and cut back on the chicken broth so it wouldnt be too soupy. I made it on the stove top, and simmered the chicken in the sauce, it gave it more flavor than adding it cooked. I added the shrimp during the last 5 minutes or so, and cooked the rice seperately. Added some cajun seasoning as well. Great recipe to build on....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Absolutely delicious. I followed the advice of others and added a little chicken broth but otherwise I followed it to the letter. This one's going into the rotation:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Very delicious. But to the reviewer that uses Chorizo, please please read the ingredient list of the packaging. You will never eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I make this about once a month because my family loves it so much. I double the stewed tomatoes, Texas Pete hot sauce, and the rice (cos it’s cheap to make it last!) I never use turkey sausage—only local smoked pork sausage made in Conecuh County, Alabama. I usually use boneless chicken thighs instead of breasts. I make my own chicken broth, and it makes a big difference. I also add a pound of frozen okra. I know peeling shrimp is a pain, but it’s worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This is an incredibly awesome recipe! I will be making it frequently for friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This recipe is a simple and delicious. This was my first time making Jambalaya and it was very easy and my husband and I both loved the taste. I will definitely make this again. I did not use an electric skillet, just cooked it stovetop. I kept all of the original ingredients and just added extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
fantastic!!! I used Mild Italian Sausage instead of turkey, for that extra kick, and omitted the prawns. I cooked the sausage & chicken first in the same pan, then added the rest. (Easy, one pot meal) Since I used brown rice (which needs extra cooking time), I didn't drain the tomatoe sauce, and it was delicious!!! My husband LOVED it, and it will now be an easy dinner for company or potlucks - it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
used andoulie sausage and added sliced fresh okra during last 10 minutes cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This was very good. The only change we made was that we used Hot Italian Sausage instead of the Turkey sausage links. It added a bit of heat to the dish. Just what it needed! :) We will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States