Jenny's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Great basic recipe, but needs to be jazzed up a bit. I used fresh garlic, added a chopped green pepper, and cut back on the chicken broth so it wouldnt be too soupy. I made it on the stove top, and simmered the chicken in the sauce, it gave it more flavor than adding it cooked. I added the shrimp during the last 5 minutes or so, and cooked the rice seperately. Added some cajun seasoning as well. Great recipe to build on....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Absolutely delicious. I followed the advice of others and added a little chicken broth but otherwise I followed it to the letter. This one's going into the rotation:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Very delicious. But to the reviewer that uses Chorizo, please please read the ingredient list of the packaging. You will never eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I make this about once a month because my family loves it so much. I double the stewed tomatoes, Texas Pete hot sauce, and the rice (cos it’s cheap to make it last!) I never use turkey sausage—only local smoked pork sausage made in Conecuh County, Alabama. I usually use boneless chicken thighs instead of breasts. I make my own chicken broth, and it makes a big difference. I also add a pound of frozen okra. I know peeling shrimp is a pain, but it’s worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This is an incredibly awesome recipe! I will be making it frequently for friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This recipe is a simple and delicious. This was my first time making Jambalaya and it was very easy and my husband and I both loved the taste. I will definitely make this again. I did not use an electric skillet, just cooked it stovetop. I kept all of the original ingredients and just added extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
fantastic!!! I used Mild Italian Sausage instead of turkey, for that extra kick, and omitted the prawns. I cooked the sausage & chicken first in the same pan, then added the rest. (Easy, one pot meal) Since I used brown rice (which needs extra cooking time), I didn't drain the tomatoe sauce, and it was delicious!!! My husband LOVED it, and it will now be an easy dinner for company or potlucks - it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
used andoulie sausage and added sliced fresh okra during last 10 minutes cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This was very good. The only change we made was that we used Hot Italian Sausage instead of the Turkey sausage links. It added a bit of heat to the dish. Just what it needed! :) We will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I really liked this I used tomato sauce instead of tomatoes and it was mushy...thats my fault though....dont try it lol....make it as written....I added carlic, celery and green pepper....easy one pot dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States