Jenny's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
Wow this was very good!!!!! I will make this again for sure. It was worth the high price of shrimp in Iowa!!!! I had a hard time finding the right sausage I ended up going with a chicken apple sausage. I am sure it would have been better if would have found something more "cajun" but you make due with what you can get. the best lower fat recipe I have found so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
This recipe is great and it is simple. I double the recipe and bring it to the pot lucks at work. Only thing I changed was add more different types of meat. 5 stars for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fridley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
Really enjoyed this recipe. Warning, must like spicy, hot food cause this one is a doozie! Overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Delicious! It's quite mild, which is nice. Everyone can add extra hot sauce to their servings, allowing for customized heat! :-) I made this in a slowcooker, adding the shrimp in the last half hour before serving. Low setting for 4 hours, then add rice and turn to high until rice is tender, set back to low and add shrimp. About 6 hours total in a pot that runs quite hot on low. "Your mileage may vary."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
This is so easy and delicious! Used a 5 qt pan on top of the stove and it turned out very well. We enjoyed it very much and will make it again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
I followed the recipe except that I used hot italian sausages and large prawns in place of the shrimp.When I made this I was running out of time and had to get to work so I put it all in the slow cooker and set it to low and cooked it for 9 hours.The end result was a gelatinous mass,quite unappealing.The next time I cook jambalaya I'll use the recipe I found on here called Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya,much better than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Delicious recipe...maybe add some more pepper..to your own taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
delicous! I had to use less spice & onion so the tummy could handle it but even my husband who doesn't like shrimp, went back for seconds. This is my first time making Jambalaya. thanks Jenny.. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This recipe was quick, easy, healthy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
This was great. I did do a couple of things different some on purpose and some were and accident but it turned out very spicy and very good! First, I added chorizo on purpose but I used a can of chili tomatoes and a can of stewed (accident) It was so good. I used a bay leaf too for a little something extra in flavor. My hubby hates tomatoes and he loved this and asked me to make some and put it in the freezer so he can heat it up when our baby arrives in June. I left ouot the seafood though. Would love to try that but my hubby is allergic. Thanks again for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Remus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States