Jenny's Cuban-Style Slow-Cooker Chicken Fricassee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Fabulous... but I'm only giving 4 stars because I made it with the changes others have suggested. I used 2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken thighs. I also added 3 heaping TBSP sofrito, 2 env. Goya sazon and a can of diced tomatoes as others did. My modification was to also add 1/2 of a 8oz jar of alcaparrado (a mix of green olives, pimento & capers)which is common to cuban cooking. Left is going in the slow cooker all day... served it with "moros & christianos" aka Moors & Christians(black beans and white rice). Shop your local mexican grocery, if available. The added ingredients are worth the trip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Made this for the family - they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I also made some changes to this dish- I used 4 chicken breasts (chopped up), added 2 packets of GOYA Sazon (as mentioned previously), 3 TBSP of GOYA Sofrito (found in latin american food stores), and a can of diced tomatoes mentioned previously, as well. The canned potatoes were a million times easier (and just as tasty) and I also served this over white rice w/ black beans. Fiance loved it and had the left overs for the next 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Very bland & I even added Adobo seasoning. I come from a Puerto Rican family and my first thought would be to add sofrito to this dish. Not sure if I will make this again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I love my slow cooker/crock pot. I did use the leg quarters since we got them on sale but boiled them for about 20 to 30 minutes the night before, after they cooked I then deboned the chicken and put in the fridge. Popped everything into the crock pot the next morning and I did add garlic powder,omitted the sage and used some dried rosemary. Very Very Good. Thanks so much for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I found this to be surprisingly bland, although the chicken was very moist and delicate. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Good! Used skinless/boneless thighs; added red pepper and few pickled jalapenos. Need to season meat before you add sauce, needed lots of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
It was good enough to keep eating but next time I'll boil the chicken to remove the skin and bones because in every bite there's a bone or grizzle. Another thing is that the chicken needed a bit more flavor, it tasted kind of plain to me but overall it was good and the family loved it I would just make those minor adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I really enjoyed this dish and it's distinctly Cuban flavor but my honey wasn't crazy about it and said he wouldn't mind not having it again. I did boil and cube the potatoes before adding them to the mix and they turned out perfect. The flavor reminded me a great deal of the Garlic Chicken at a local Cuban restaurant, fewer vegetables in theirs but the flavor was very close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This was so yummy, I was amazed at how all these flavors came together and mellowed out into one. The chicken was falling off the bones and flavorful. The only thing is that I used canned potatoes as I was all out of any other potatoes, and they got a little burnt when sitting on a side the whole 8 hours. I recommend stirring halfway when using canned potatoes. Other than that, I recommend using canned tatoes, guaranteed to be cooked through when you are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States