Jenny's Cuban-Style Slow-Cooker Chicken Fricassee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Although the chicken just fell off the bone, the taste just wasn't there. It needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was delicious! My whole kids and husband devoured it and asked that it be a "regular" dinner item. It was so quick and easy too. The only thing I changed was substituting savory for sage, only because I didn't have any sage on hand. I used chicken thighs (again, this is what I had on hand) and browned them for a few minutes in a frying pan before putting them in the slow cooker. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I added the Sazon (2 pkgs) and about 2 tablespoons of Adobo and omitted all other spices except pepper. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Each week, a group of friends and I get together to watch Top Chef and we select a theme for the evening. Last night was "Cuban", so I used this recipe since it got great reviews. I don't know anything about Cuban food, but I personally didn't care for this recipe at all. You absolutely MUST take off the skin before cooking or you going to gag on the amount of grease in the sauce. I added diced tomatoes and the goya seasoning as other reviewers had suggested, but I still found the dish unappealing and hardly inspired. It was basically chicken sitting on a plate with tomato juice. Others said it was tasty, but I assume they were being kind. Don't think I would make it past an elimination challenge with this dish were I actually on the show! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Disappointing- followed recipe and made a few slight changes based on the reviews- sofrito, used crushed tomatoes with garlic/onions.. still tasteless. Very tender though. Wouldn't make again- sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
great recipe..but I suggest not using chicken on a bone. The meat became so tender it fell right off the bones and the bones became brittle so it was hard to pick them out. Very good though...I dont know why people complained that the potatoes weren't cooking all the way...my potatoes were extremely moist. I doubled the recipe and added a can of diced tomatoes to the recipe as others suggested but when it was done there was so much juice that I think it would have been fine without it. I didnt know what the other reviewers were talking about when they suggested sofrita or goya whatever...so I just added fajita seasoning to it through out the cooking process...only stirred it once about half through and cooked it for the whole 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This was YUMMY! I used Carribean Jerk seasoning in addition to the ones in the recipe and my family LOVED this dish, even my husband who hates chicken on the bone. I served it with rice in a bowl, kinda like a soup, it was wonderful, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Fantastic! Made it again the next week after my wife went crazy for the first batch! I followed Karen H.'s advice on the sazon and sofrito, and also used canned potatoes for laziness' sake. The second batch is chopped up a whole chicken and put it all in, and it all tasted great. Served over cooked brown rice, it easily made a dinner and 3 lunches worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I made this recipe for tonight's dinner and it was excellent. I used a large can of diced tomatoes instead of the fresh tomatoes, and, based on the other reviewers comments, I added 1 Tbs of jerk seasoning. I also used boneless, skinless chicken thighs. It was delicious. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This was Awesome!!!I didn't have the sage or cumin ,but I threw in ( 2 Bay leaves,1 tsp of sofrito,and 1 sazon packet.This was a huge hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States