Jenny's Cuban-Style Slow-Cooker Chicken Fricassee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made this tonight and it was a big hit with my 3 kids and I. There where two changes I made but only because I did not have two of the ingredients. I used spagetti sauce because I did not have tomato sauce and I took the skin off of the chicken. I was so yummy. I will be making this again:) Thanks Jenny!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Thank you Jenny! My whole family loved this once I pulled the wine from the recipe. My wife loved it, our fussy 9 year old had three servings and even the 18 month old loved it too. I put in too much chopped garlic (on purpose) to make it taste stronger as I removed the wine. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedeeaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I used drumsticks with the skin on. I found it to be too greasy so will try it with chicken breast pieces next time. Loved the spices and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Delicious! Per other's comments I added Sazon, and homemade sofrito. It was fabulous. For those who said it was bland, be sure to taste the sauce before pouring it over the chicken. It might need more salt/pepper etc. Serve with white rice... perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mightymiri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I made this with the suggested changes (sofrito and Sazon, which I found at Meijer)and the chicken was still a bit bland. Will make this again, but with hot sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Although the chicken just fell off the bone, the taste just wasn't there. It needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was delicious! My whole kids and husband devoured it and asked that it be a "regular" dinner item. It was so quick and easy too. The only thing I changed was substituting savory for sage, only because I didn't have any sage on hand. I used chicken thighs (again, this is what I had on hand) and browned them for a few minutes in a frying pan before putting them in the slow cooker. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I added the Sazon (2 pkgs) and about 2 tablespoons of Adobo and omitted all other spices except pepper. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Each week, a group of friends and I get together to watch Top Chef and we select a theme for the evening. Last night was "Cuban", so I used this recipe since it got great reviews. I don't know anything about Cuban food, but I personally didn't care for this recipe at all. You absolutely MUST take off the skin before cooking or you going to gag on the amount of grease in the sauce. I added diced tomatoes and the goya seasoning as other reviewers had suggested, but I still found the dish unappealing and hardly inspired. It was basically chicken sitting on a plate with tomato juice. Others said it was tasty, but I assume they were being kind. Don't think I would make it past an elimination challenge with this dish were I actually on the show! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Disappointing- followed recipe and made a few slight changes based on the reviews- sofrito, used crushed tomatoes with garlic/onions.. still tasteless. Very tender though. Wouldn't make again- sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States