Jenny's Cuban-Style Slow-Cooker Chicken Fricassee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This is so yummy! I also used a jar of sofrito (Goya brand) and a packet of Sazon Azafran (also Goya) per the original submitters review. I also substituted bay leaves for the sage in the recipe (per OP as well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This was very easy and good. Changes I made per reviews- cut potatoes into large chunks, added a ton more spices (cumin, ground coriander, onion powder, garlic powder, seasoning salt), and skinned the chicken pieces. I had planned on sprinkling with cilantro but mine had gone bad. Would have been a nice addition. I also added a cornstarch paste towards the end to help thicken the sauce a bit. I really liked the flavor the wine added. I served with cheese quesadillas and black beans and rice. A great base recipe to play around with to suit your taste! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I made this today and the only change I made was to add Goya Sofrito and Sazon as other reviewers recommended....this was restaurant quality!!!( I live in Florida and love Cuban cafeterias)I could not find alcaparrado, or I would have added that too...Thanks Jenny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This was a very good base recipe. I did need to add some 'umph' in the spice department, which is why I only gave this recipe 4 stars. Everyone's taste in what makes a good recipe s unique, and this is no exception. I will make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Killer Carrot
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Chicken was fall off the bone but that was the only thing I liked about this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Did not turn out well at all....I was hoping for a tasty combo of flavors...did NOTenjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
The first time I had this was it was made for me...fell instantly in love. It is a new staple in our kitchern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I added this recipe a long time ago and did it right off the top of my head. I love the changes that everyone has made. Looking back, of course, it's best to remove the skin and adding olives makes it wonderful. I don't know why "Allrecipes" added the sage, as I only use 1-2 bay leaves in it. You can make this quickly in a dutch oven on the stove too. The Goya seasoning or something like it should also have been included in the ingredients. Hope you continue to love it! Jenny!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Celebration, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I love cuban food, I love the taste. I like eating this meal with some fried plantains and some black beans and rice. I also add a bit of home made salsa to give it a kick. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States