Jenny's Cuban-Style Slow-Cooker Chicken Fricassee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Absolutely loved this. I used three chicken hindquarters, a larger can (16oz) of tomato sauce, a 16oz can of diced tomatoes (mexican style with chiles and onions) and a whole bell pepper chopped. Thanks to the adbuce of many of the reviewers I obtained and used 2packets of Goya sazón and 3tbsp of Goya sofrito. I also per advice quartered the potatoes and served over rice, with fried plantains on the side. The chicken was tremendously flaborful and tender and the sauce was aromatic and wonderful. This was a great comfidence builder for my first foray int o cuban cuisine. Thanks Jenny for a simple and tasty recipe that only needed a few tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
made this yesterday this was pretty yummy and easy to throw together. Try this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I loved this recipe, but I did add my touch to it to make it more flavorful and it was great. First, I browned the chicken. I didn't have white wine, so I used red to deglaze the pot. I added Goya Sofrito (the green one) and also added a can of diced tomatoes. I have it so may parents (who are Cuban) and the LOVED it! Great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I didn't like this at all....I love Cuban food and this didn't even come close to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I improvised a little on this recipe and actually combined and altered this recipe with another chicken fricasse recipe I found on this website. It was very tasty and the chicken came out so tender it literally was falling right off the bone with the touch of a fork. The only downside was it stunk up my house for a good 3 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lootylove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Very flavorful...kids really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheDon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This meal is EASY and DELICIOUS!!! TY TY TY WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LidiaBeaulac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndonville, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I made many of the additions/changes that others suggested. I added two packets of the Goya Sazon and 3 tbsp of the Goya Sofrito. I also used 2 bay leaves instead of sage since bay leaves are more commonly used in cuban cooking. I also added about 1/2 a cup of the alcaparrado as someone else suggested. I more than likely will not add this again. The spanish olives had pits in them. I will just add manzanilla olives with some pimentos next time. Also used a little over 3 lbs of chicken leg quarters. It took a little longer to cook. Overall this was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This is so yummy! I also used a jar of sofrito (Goya brand) and a packet of Sazon Azafran (also Goya) per the original submitters review. I also substituted bay leaves for the sage in the recipe (per OP as well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This was very easy and good. Changes I made per reviews- cut potatoes into large chunks, added a ton more spices (cumin, ground coriander, onion powder, garlic powder, seasoning salt), and skinned the chicken pieces. I had planned on sprinkling with cilantro but mine had gone bad. Would have been a nice addition. I also added a cornstarch paste towards the end to help thicken the sauce a bit. I really liked the flavor the wine added. I served with cheese quesadillas and black beans and rice. A great base recipe to play around with to suit your taste! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States