Jenny's Cuban-Style Slow-Cooker Chicken Fricassee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Very delish. I just made a few changes. I didn't have any wine so I left that out (probably would have brought this dish to a whole new dimension); I don't like green peppers so I used 1/2 a red pepper and instead of potatoes I made rice and to spoon the chicken and the juices over. Great flavor! I loved it, daughter loved it and picky b/friend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
What a fantastic dish! I used one whole chicken, cut into standard pieces -- the breast meat literally fell off the bone! -- and had dinner for two for two nights. My fiancée has been introduced to all sorts of new and exciting dishes since we met, and she said this one is definitely among the best I've prepared...and that's not due to any lack of culinary skills on my part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael L. Hoenig

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This was easy to make and got raves when I served it. It was good even the next day. This is a recipe I'll be using again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This was so yummy, I was amazed at how all these flavors came together and mellowed out into one. The chicken was falling off the bones and flavorful. The only thing is that I used canned potatoes as I was all out of any other potatoes, and they got a little burnt when sitting on a side the whole 8 hours. I recommend stirring halfway when using canned potatoes. Other than that, I recommend using canned tatoes, guaranteed to be cooked through when you are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
5 stars with the changes other reviewers suggested, I add the sofrito, and 2 packets of sazon. I also added green olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Fantastic! Made it again the next week after my wife went crazy for the first batch! I followed Karen H.'s advice on the sazon and sofrito, and also used canned potatoes for laziness' sake. The second batch is chopped up a whole chicken and put it all in, and it all tasted great. Served over cooked brown rice, it easily made a dinner and 3 lunches worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Very good crock pot dish. I put in chix breast for myself and thighs for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mml25aqua

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This was YUMMY! I used Carribean Jerk seasoning in addition to the ones in the recipe and my family LOVED this dish, even my husband who hates chicken on the bone. I served it with rice in a bowl, kinda like a soup, it was wonderful, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
This is a fantastic meal. I would eat it over and over again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I love my slow cooker/crock pot. I did use the leg quarters since we got them on sale but boiled them for about 20 to 30 minutes the night before, after they cooked I then deboned the chicken and put in the fridge. Popped everything into the crock pot the next morning and I did add garlic powder,omitted the sage and used some dried rosemary. Very Very Good. Thanks so much for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States