Jenny's Cuban-Style Slow-Cooker Chicken Fricassee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
What I like about Jenny's Cuban-Style Slow-Cooker Chicken Fricassee? It was nice and easy to put together. It was a pretty decent take on regular chicken fricasse. Things I would do differently: Remove the skin prior to cooking and add some chicken breasts also. Things I added to the recipe: I added a can of chopped Italian tomatoes with garlic and oregano and two packets of Sazon' (a Caribbean spice or seasoning packet-great flavor). I also added 5 large stuffed green olives. I served my dish over white rice and still used the potatoes too. My kids ate the chicken easily as it was soft and fell right off the bone. I will use this recipe again for its ease in preparation and because my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Fabulous... but I'm only giving 4 stars because I made it with the changes others have suggested. I used 2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken thighs. I also added 3 heaping TBSP sofrito, 2 env. Goya sazon and a can of diced tomatoes as others did. My modification was to also add 1/2 of a 8oz jar of alcaparrado (a mix of green olives, pimento & capers)which is common to cuban cooking. Left is going in the slow cooker all day... served it with "moros & christianos" aka Moors & Christians(black beans and white rice). Shop your local mexican grocery, if available. The added ingredients are worth the trip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Ok, I prepared this using 4 drumsticks and 4 thighs. Went to work, THEN I read the reviews. I stopped at the store and picked up SazonGoya and Goya Sofrito as recommended. I got home later so it had already been cooking an hour or so longer. I added some more white wine, some chicken broth and the extra seasoning. My beau doesn't like dark meat, so fearful I might have ruined the whole meal, I baked 4 chicken breasts and threw that in too, what the heck. I served over white rice. The meat feel right off the bones it was so tender! Sooo tasty! You just have to add the extra seasoning. I think the extra cooking time helped too, it "thickened" everything up and the potatoes were tender. My boyfriend loved this dish adn we ate the leftovers for days. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I also made some changes to this dish- I used 4 chicken breasts (chopped up), added 2 packets of GOYA Sazon (as mentioned previously), 3 TBSP of GOYA Sofrito (found in latin american food stores), and a can of diced tomatoes mentioned previously, as well. The canned potatoes were a million times easier (and just as tasty) and I also served this over white rice w/ black beans. Fiance loved it and had the left overs for the next 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I made this today and the only change I made was to add Goya Sofrito and Sazon as other reviewers recommended....this was restaurant quality!!!( I live in Florida and love Cuban cafeterias)I could not find alcaparrado, or I would have added that too...Thanks Jenny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Delicious! Per other's comments I added Sazon, and homemade sofrito. It was fabulous. For those who said it was bland, be sure to taste the sauce before pouring it over the chicken. It might need more salt/pepper etc. Serve with white rice... perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mightymiri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I should have listened more to the bad reviews then the good ones. This was pretty much tasteless. I followed the recipe exact...I will never make again...the one good thing about it was that it was VERY easy to put together. Sorry Jenny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
This was easy and pretty good for a quick throw together crock pot dish. My husband even liked it and he likes "plain" food. Next time will leave out potatoes b/c even though I cubed them and put them in the bottom of the pot they did'nt cook thoroughly. Will serve with rice and black beans in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doggymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I added this recipe a long time ago and did it right off the top of my head. I love the changes that everyone has made. Looking back, of course, it's best to remove the skin and adding olives makes it wonderful. I don't know why "Allrecipes" added the sage, as I only use 1-2 bay leaves in it. You can make this quickly in a dutch oven on the stove too. The Goya seasoning or something like it should also have been included in the ingredients. Hope you continue to love it! Jenny!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Celebration, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
5 stars with the changes other reviewers suggested, I add the sofrito, and 2 packets of sazon. I also added green olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States