Jenny's Cuban-Style Slow-Cooker Chicken Fricassee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This was Awesome!!!I didn't have the sage or cumin ,but I threw in ( 2 Bay leaves,1 tsp of sofrito,and 1 sazon packet.This was a huge hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This was a good recipe--I used chicken breasts and Adobo for seasoning as others recommended. I also threw in some carrots for extra veggies. About an hour before we were ready to eat, a lot of the liquid had cooked off, so I added chicken broth. Served it with rice, black beans and a fried egg on top and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
5 stars with the changes other reviewers suggested, I add the sofrito, and 2 packets of sazon. I also added green olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I have to say this was by far my least favorite recipe so far. I thought it was tastless, and I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Very good crock pot dish. I put in chix breast for myself and thighs for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mml25aqua

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Ok, I prepared this using 4 drumsticks and 4 thighs. Went to work, THEN I read the reviews. I stopped at the store and picked up SazonGoya and Goya Sofrito as recommended. I got home later so it had already been cooking an hour or so longer. I added some more white wine, some chicken broth and the extra seasoning. My beau doesn't like dark meat, so fearful I might have ruined the whole meal, I baked 4 chicken breasts and threw that in too, what the heck. I served over white rice. The meat feel right off the bones it was so tender! Sooo tasty! You just have to add the extra seasoning. I think the extra cooking time helped too, it "thickened" everything up and the potatoes were tender. My boyfriend loved this dish adn we ate the leftovers for days. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Fabulous... but I'm only giving 4 stars because I made it with the changes others have suggested. I used 2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken thighs. I also added 3 heaping TBSP sofrito, 2 env. Goya sazon and a can of diced tomatoes as others did. My modification was to also add 1/2 of a 8oz jar of alcaparrado (a mix of green olives, pimento & capers)which is common to cuban cooking. Left is going in the slow cooker all day... served it with "moros & christianos" aka Moors & Christians(black beans and white rice). Shop your local mexican grocery, if available. The added ingredients are worth the trip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Made this for the family - they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I also made some changes to this dish- I used 4 chicken breasts (chopped up), added 2 packets of GOYA Sazon (as mentioned previously), 3 TBSP of GOYA Sofrito (found in latin american food stores), and a can of diced tomatoes mentioned previously, as well. The canned potatoes were a million times easier (and just as tasty) and I also served this over white rice w/ black beans. Fiance loved it and had the left overs for the next 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Very bland & I even added Adobo seasoning. I come from a Puerto Rican family and my first thought would be to add sofrito to this dish. Not sure if I will make this again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States