Jenny's Cuban-Style Slow-Cooker Chicken Fricassee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Thank you Jenny! My whole family loved this once I pulled the wine from the recipe. My wife loved it, our fussy 9 year old had three servings and even the 18 month old loved it too. I put in too much chopped garlic (on purpose) to make it taste stronger as I removed the wine. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedeeaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I used drumsticks with the skin on. I found it to be too greasy so will try it with chicken breast pieces next time. Loved the spices and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Delicious! Per other's comments I added Sazon, and homemade sofrito. It was fabulous. For those who said it was bland, be sure to taste the sauce before pouring it over the chicken. It might need more salt/pepper etc. Serve with white rice... perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mightymiri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I made this with the suggested changes (sofrito and Sazon, which I found at Meijer)and the chicken was still a bit bland. Will make this again, but with hot sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Although the chicken just fell off the bone, the taste just wasn't there. It needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was delicious! My whole kids and husband devoured it and asked that it be a "regular" dinner item. It was so quick and easy too. The only thing I changed was substituting savory for sage, only because I didn't have any sage on hand. I used chicken thighs (again, this is what I had on hand) and browned them for a few minutes in a frying pan before putting them in the slow cooker. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I added the Sazon (2 pkgs) and about 2 tablespoons of Adobo and omitted all other spices except pepper. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Each week, a group of friends and I get together to watch Top Chef and we select a theme for the evening. Last night was "Cuban", so I used this recipe since it got great reviews. I don't know anything about Cuban food, but I personally didn't care for this recipe at all. You absolutely MUST take off the skin before cooking or you going to gag on the amount of grease in the sauce. I added diced tomatoes and the goya seasoning as other reviewers had suggested, but I still found the dish unappealing and hardly inspired. It was basically chicken sitting on a plate with tomato juice. Others said it was tasty, but I assume they were being kind. Don't think I would make it past an elimination challenge with this dish were I actually on the show! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Disappointing- followed recipe and made a few slight changes based on the reviews- sofrito, used crushed tomatoes with garlic/onions.. still tasteless. Very tender though. Wouldn't make again- sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
great recipe..but I suggest not using chicken on a bone. The meat became so tender it fell right off the bones and the bones became brittle so it was hard to pick them out. Very good though...I dont know why people complained that the potatoes weren't cooking all the way...my potatoes were extremely moist. I doubled the recipe and added a can of diced tomatoes to the recipe as others suggested but when it was done there was so much juice that I think it would have been fine without it. I didnt know what the other reviewers were talking about when they suggested sofrita or goya whatever...so I just added fajita seasoning to it through out the cooking process...only stirred it once about half through and cooked it for the whole 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

A complete, one-pan meal that’s in the oven in just 15 minutes.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States