Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Perfect! The batter was really runny, but the cakes turned out so moist! (I used this recipe for cupcakes). I would definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolekrystyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
FANTASTIC!!!! Hubby requested a black forest cake for his Birthday and this is the recipe I decided on...everyone raved!!! Made as written, but did not use the liquor in the cherry filling due to the fact that kids were eating this as well, but I plan to try it that way another time. The cake is dense, but very moist. I topped mine with homemade chocolate/marshmallow buttercream. This cake will definately be made again and again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
AWESOME!! Moist, flavorful, delicious!! Best chocolate cake recipe I have found!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I did my own recipe for the cherry filling so I'm just reviewing the cake. Oh. My. Goodness. This is now my go-to chocolate cake recipe. It's so light and fluffy. I took it to my friend's birthday party and he could not stop talking about it and made everyone try it. I got a lot of compliments. Follow the cake recipe exactly. You won't be disappointed. I did do one thing differently though. I didn't have round pans so I used one 9x13 sheet cake pan. Baked about the same so you shouldn't need to adjust cooking times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Very good cake!! Best Black Forest cake I've ever made or tasted!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily McCann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ewa Lamb
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
The cake turned out nice and moist and tasty. Next time I make it I will add a chocolate mousse layer to the middle. Everyone loved it and thought it was delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Thanks for this recipe. It made rather a large cake for our small family so I sent some of it to my friends. Everyone who ate it asked for more and wanted the recipe too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Cake was amazingly moist and delicious. May not be fair for me to rate this recipe because we did substitute 1 cup water with vanilla and cocoa in it for coffee since we don't drink coffee. And we didn't use any liquor either. Was absolutely gobbled up!! I also used the topping idea from Black Forest Cake I recipe. Yu-uhm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
BEST chocolate cake EVER! I used applesauce instead of oil and sour cream instead of vinegar and milk, it came out fabulous! I topped with a cool whip frosting which I mixed a box of cheesecake pudding....YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMandyinVT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This was amazing! I had to change it a little bit though, I took out the coffee and just added water (we don't drink/eat coffee in any form) and even w/o the coffee it tasted amazing. It was so moist too. Definitely a favorite we will use over and over. Instead of using canned pie filling I whipped up some cream and added cherry extract to it and added maraschino cherries. Then used whipped cream as the outside frosting. Chocolate ganache drizzled on the side and topped with more cherries. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States