Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by tori45
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I followed this recipe to a tee. Decorated it differently but kept everything else the same. This cake is so amazing I have made it 3 times in less than a month! It is so moist. Better than box cake and with ingredients I had in my pantry! I would recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
i made this cake for my husband's birthday and it was a great success. this was my first tall and layer cake. it came out very well. everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is it! This is the chocolate cake I have been searching for. It's moist, sticky, and spongy. Since I don't have two 8 inch cake pans I used two 9 inch pans and it still baked well at 30 minutes. I love how chocolatey it is. It's intensely chocolate actually. And kudos for the coffee addition, it does good things for the chocolate. This recipe is definitely a winner. My family enjoyed it very much and it didn't last long at all. I already have requests to make another. Thanks for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by misheclark
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I used the cake portion of this recipe and it was perfect. It was really chocolatey, moist, and not too dense. I didn't use this filling recipe. I put cherries and whipped cream between the layers and frosted with a chocolate ganache frosting. I decorated the top of the cake with more cherries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SmellyPrawn
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Thank you for this amazing recipe. I'd never made a cake from scratch before and this turned out perfectly!! It was seriously one of the most delicious cakes I've ever had. I didn't use the cherry liqueur, just used plain cherry pie filling. I was in a hurry when I made it so I didn't try to make it look pretty but it didn't even matter because it tasted so good, everyone loved it! I also used real buttermilk instead of making sour milk. And I made whipped cream to frost the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Made it with raspberries, as that's what I had on hand, for a work treat and the whole department begged for the recipe. Very rich, gooey chocolate cake. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PW
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made this recipe without any changes and it was absolutely phenomenal! Very moist and delicious! This is definitely one of the cakes I'll be making for my wedding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sinlychea
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I made this for my NYE party, followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! My family and guests were raving about it ! The cake is super rich, moist and dense and not too sweet!! Which is exactly how we like it! The sweetness and lightness of the cherry filling and whip cream complements the cake perfectly! Will definetly keep in my recipe box and make again !! 5**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sinlychea

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I love this recipe! It is not like other black forest cake recipes: no icing, no whipped cream. It is dark and rich and full of the smell of Kirschwasser! Very adult. You can always add ice cream or whipped cream on the side for those who want more sugar, but I think it is just great as is. A side note, I think the batter was kind of runny and so the cake was not quite done in the middle. Next time I am going to cut back on the coffee, maybe 1/4 to 1/2 c. less. But I don't think it hurt a thing in the long run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PEPRCHLI
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Everyone loved this cake ! Very good recipe but I did make some changes. Used Buttermilk instead of the sour milk. Used 1 cup plus 1 tablespoon. Also used Cherry pie filling mixed with 1/4 cup Ki. For filling . I used Chocolate Butter-Creme Frosting recipe for frosting the sides of the cake. I filled the cake with the whipped cream but also put a little Kir. And some Almond extract for a light cherry flavor. Loaded up the remaining cream and cherry filling on top and piped some cream around edges and tossed a little shaved chocolate on it. Beautiful and delicious!! From start to finish it took me about 3 hrs and 15 mins but worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States