Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by kitchen ninja
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I decided to frost my black forest cake with chocolate ganache on the sides and decorate with homemade whip cream on top, my husband nearly fell out of his chair it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchen ninja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Oh, Yum!!! This is the first homemade cake recipe that turned out as well as D.H. cake mix. Just perfect. The only change was I drained the canned cherries, and omitted the liqueur (since I didn't have it), and whisked a little butter, vanilla & powdered sugar and poured it over the cherries in the middle. Topped the cake with Chocolate Frosting I from this site - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Great recipe! I soaked the cherries in orange liqueur and used the "whipped cream cream cheese frosting" inside and to frost the cake. Finger licking good! Oh the chocolate cake recipe is exactly the same as the "Black Magic Cake" which is my favorite!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Decent, but nothing to write home about. Its a very good basic chocolate cake recipe (and works fine with soy milk) but other than being an extremely aesthetic dessert, I was not overly wowed by the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baby-dragon
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I LOVED THIS!!!!!!!!!! I made it for my fiance's 29th birthday and it was perfect! Only thing i changed was the cherry filling. I blended about 2 cups of glacee (real)cherries and added some water and sugar and made the filling this way as i couldnt find cherrie pie filling. I made it into 3 layers and covered with chocolate icing and then set some melted chocolate into the same size as the top of the cake and used this to decorate with cream and then wrote in the middle with white choc jel. Was divine. I think next time ill make them into cupcakes though. LOL very unhealthy and sickning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baby-dragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I thought this cake was going to fail as it was really runny and took about 50 min. rather than 30 min. to cook. In the end, it seemed quite moist but once I put the cherry filling (with rasberry liquer!) and whipped cream into 3 layers (cut each cake half in two) and then on top of it. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny B

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by karataronno
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I have made this recipe 3 times now. Once for my sister's birthday, and twice just using the chocolate cake. It is a very rich cake, so big slice are not needed. This has become my standard chocolate cake recipe! I will be making this again for my son's 3rd birthday cake this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This is a very moist, delicious cake! I doubled the recipe to make a larger cake for a birthday. I did not double the liqueur, because once I added the first half, the flavor was quite strong. Will definitely save this recipe to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I made my own filling for this, but the cake itself was fantastic!!!! I made it in 2 9inch springform pans. It didn't rise as much as I wanted it to so I made another 1/2 batch and ended up with a stunning 3 layer cake. Many of my guests said it was the best cake they'd ever tasted. My boyfriend has already requested it for his birthday (in November!) with a chocolate frosting. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Very good cake. Used cherry pie filling with whipped cream a couple of times, real good. Favorite is cake with a scoop of whipped cream on top. One problem, every time I bake it the middle of the cake is collapsed, every time. Baked at least 6 times so 12 pans and everytime collapsed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States