Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I made my own filling for this, but the cake itself was fantastic!!!! I made it in 2 9inch springform pans. It didn't rise as much as I wanted it to so I made another 1/2 batch and ended up with a stunning 3 layer cake. Many of my guests said it was the best cake they'd ever tasted. My boyfriend has already requested it for his birthday (in November!) with a chocolate frosting. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Very good cake. Used cherry pie filling with whipped cream a couple of times, real good. Favorite is cake with a scoop of whipped cream on top. One problem, every time I bake it the middle of the cake is collapsed, every time. Baked at least 6 times so 12 pans and everytime collapsed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written, and baked it in 2 8-inch round cake pans. The batter was very liquid. After 30 minutes of baking, the batter had oozed out all over the oven, and what was left in the pans was still jiggly inside with a baked crust on top. What did I do wrong? Everyone else seems to love it, and it looked so good. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This didn't turn out so well for me. I baked the cake in 2 9-inch springforms for 50 minutes. Both the cakes collapsed. I bought cherry liqueur but I don't think it's necessary because you can't taste it all. If I make black forest cake again, I will use the "One Bowl Chocolate Cake" from this site as it turns out moist and delicious every time with far less steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Great recipe!! Very easy, cake was moist and very tasty. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARY262

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Love this recipe. I made it for my husband birthday at church. It was so moist and everyone loved it. I used buttercream for filling and icing and chocolate chips for decoration. I didn't use cherry liquor but used rhum instead by brushing it on the cake before I put on the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIEKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I followed exactly the recipe for the cake. The cake is extremely moist, which is why it doesn't go too well with black forest cake. Black forest is also supposed to have whipped cream as topping so I added it in between the two cake layers and on top, before adding the cherry filling. This cake would probably be better as a normal chocolate cake used with buttercream frosting or something. It is a good cake, just not the best. "Black forest I" recipe from this site was a bigger hit with everyone. I will keep looking for the ultimate. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
My oh My....What a cake! I was not sure about the coffee thing, but this cake came out so moist, the coffee must have done something good! :) Great recipe - Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tin297

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I LOVED this cake. The batter was really thin when I poured it into the pans, but it turned out great! I didn't use the liquer, just a tart cherry pie filling and cool whip on top. My first attempt at this cake looked a bit of a mess, the cherry layer can kind of slide the cake layer if you don't know what you are doing. :) I will try to make it prettier next time with real fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made this for my sister's birthday. Added more flour, accidentally used less sugar and it was enough for two 9-inch pans. The cake still turned out incredibly moist, and everyone loved it! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States