Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by baby-dragon
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I LOVED THIS!!!!!!!!!! I made it for my fiance's 29th birthday and it was perfect! Only thing i changed was the cherry filling. I blended about 2 cups of glacee (real)cherries and added some water and sugar and made the filling this way as i couldnt find cherrie pie filling. I made it into 3 layers and covered with chocolate icing and then set some melted chocolate into the same size as the top of the cake and used this to decorate with cream and then wrote in the middle with white choc jel. Was divine. I think next time ill make them into cupcakes though. LOL very unhealthy and sickning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baby-dragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I thought this cake was going to fail as it was really runny and took about 50 min. rather than 30 min. to cook. In the end, it seemed quite moist but once I put the cherry filling (with rasberry liquer!) and whipped cream into 3 layers (cut each cake half in two) and then on top of it. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny B

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by karataronno
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I have made this recipe 3 times now. Once for my sister's birthday, and twice just using the chocolate cake. It is a very rich cake, so big slice are not needed. This has become my standard chocolate cake recipe! I will be making this again for my son's 3rd birthday cake this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This is a very moist, delicious cake! I doubled the recipe to make a larger cake for a birthday. I did not double the liqueur, because once I added the first half, the flavor was quite strong. Will definitely save this recipe to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I made my own filling for this, but the cake itself was fantastic!!!! I made it in 2 9inch springform pans. It didn't rise as much as I wanted it to so I made another 1/2 batch and ended up with a stunning 3 layer cake. Many of my guests said it was the best cake they'd ever tasted. My boyfriend has already requested it for his birthday (in November!) with a chocolate frosting. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Very good cake. Used cherry pie filling with whipped cream a couple of times, real good. Favorite is cake with a scoop of whipped cream on top. One problem, every time I bake it the middle of the cake is collapsed, every time. Baked at least 6 times so 12 pans and everytime collapsed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written, and baked it in 2 8-inch round cake pans. The batter was very liquid. After 30 minutes of baking, the batter had oozed out all over the oven, and what was left in the pans was still jiggly inside with a baked crust on top. What did I do wrong? Everyone else seems to love it, and it looked so good. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This didn't turn out so well for me. I baked the cake in 2 9-inch springforms for 50 minutes. Both the cakes collapsed. I bought cherry liqueur but I don't think it's necessary because you can't taste it all. If I make black forest cake again, I will use the "One Bowl Chocolate Cake" from this site as it turns out moist and delicious every time with far less steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Great recipe!! Very easy, cake was moist and very tasty. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Knapp-Stanton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Love this recipe. I made it for my husband birthday at church. It was so moist and everyone loved it. I used buttercream for filling and icing and chocolate chips for decoration. I didn't use cherry liquor but used rhum instead by brushing it on the cake before I put on the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIEKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States