Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by NataliaBroughtCookies
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Delicious and moist! I made the cake into little 2-layer cupcakes, painstaking but soooo worth it! They were too cute! (see photos for this recipe--they turned out a bit messy but next time they'll be picture-perfect)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Thank you so much for sharing!!!!!!!!!!! This is the first time I have reviewed a recipe, the only time that I was completely astounded by the recipe enough to review one! This was the moistest chocolate cake I have EVER tasted, I will use the cake recipe for EVERY other kind of chocolate cake I make in the future! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
The texture was amazing, but the flavor was only okay by itself. Next time I'll add more sugr and vanilla. However, with a little bit of cream cheese frosting, yum. I want to add that I totally skipped the black foresting part and used the cake as base for chocolate cupcakes with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
yummy! went by the recipe...worked great. you don't always have to modify these things!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy4876

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Memphis, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
My husband isn't a big cake and comfort food eater, but he ate 2 slices of this in under five minutes. Fantastic recipe and I will definitely use it again. I skipped the liqueur because I didn't have any, but it was still very rich. Also added about a handful of dark chocolate chips to each cake afer baking for about 8 minutes, and finished the whole thing in whipped cream. DELICIOUS! Very worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kitchen ninja
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I decided to frost my black forest cake with chocolate ganache on the sides and decorate with homemade whip cream on top, my husband nearly fell out of his chair it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchen ninja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Oh, Yum!!! This is the first homemade cake recipe that turned out as well as D.H. cake mix. Just perfect. The only change was I drained the canned cherries, and omitted the liqueur (since I didn't have it), and whisked a little butter, vanilla & powdered sugar and poured it over the cherries in the middle. Topped the cake with Chocolate Frosting I from this site - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Great recipe! I soaked the cherries in orange liqueur and used the "whipped cream cream cheese frosting" inside and to frost the cake. Finger licking good! Oh the chocolate cake recipe is exactly the same as the "Black Magic Cake" which is my favorite!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Decent, but nothing to write home about. Its a very good basic chocolate cake recipe (and works fine with soy milk) but other than being an extremely aesthetic dessert, I was not overly wowed by the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baby-dragon
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I LOVED THIS!!!!!!!!!! I made it for my fiance's 29th birthday and it was perfect! Only thing i changed was the cherry filling. I blended about 2 cups of glacee (real)cherries and added some water and sugar and made the filling this way as i couldnt find cherrie pie filling. I made it into 3 layers and covered with chocolate icing and then set some melted chocolate into the same size as the top of the cake and used this to decorate with cream and then wrote in the middle with white choc jel. Was divine. I think next time ill make them into cupcakes though. LOL very unhealthy and sickning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baby-dragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States