Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Priyanka_23
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I adore this recipe. I have made it several (hundred) times over the past 3+ years and it has turned out perfect every single time! I am not a very experienced baker and this was one of the first cakes I made from scratch. It came out springy, spongey and moist...and I have been in love ever since. A couple of times I didn't have any cherry liqueur on hand - I used 1/2 cup of the liquid from the maraschino cherries jar, it worked out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crystalle
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is the second time I've baked this recipie and it is just awesome. The taste the moistness ....Just love everything about this cake. Thank you for this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I hadn't had black forest cake since I was a child. Just as yummy as I remember! Great recipe, and fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Can't say enough good things about this cake. Super easy to make and it comes out so moist and flavourful. I've made it many times and it never fails to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NipsyLinz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I make this cake every year for my husband and for my brother on their birthdays..I top with maarscarpone frosting and it's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I tried this recipe last weekend using a 9X13 inch pan and the convection setting on the oven. I was concerned about the liquidity of the batter (I am a VERY CAREFUL measurer.)but cooked it anyway. It did not raise in the middle. I found another recipe with a little more flour and buttermilk that turned out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This cake was so easy to put together and absolutely delicious. There wasn't a piece leftover after serving. I followed another user's instructions and used a can of pitted sweet cherries and made a syrup from just a bit of the liquid, some white sugar, and a vanilla liqueur since I didn't have any Kirsch on hand. The cake batter was extremely thin going in to the oven but it baked perfectly and was one of the most moist cakes I've ever baked. I also made homemade whipped cream with a real vanilla bean. Guests could not stop raving about this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This was a very easy cake to make, came out moist and delicious, disappeared like lightning. I did not have cherry Liqueur so I substituted Cherry Flavored brandy, worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rfgibbo
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
So very good ! I made cupcakes for a classroom full of 3rd graders for my sons German Culture presentation and they loved it . I'm German and I couldn't believe how good they recipe turn out !! No alcohol !! :-) Fantastic, Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
A-MAZ-ING!!!!!! So yummy and moist and deelish! Absolutely divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States