Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Loved it but it took me three trys. I need to find ut what to adjust for high altitude as the pans over filled and ran over in the oven....I live in Aspen at 7900 ft.....any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy Wycoff
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Great recipe and easy to adjust to individual tastes. Made it for work and it was gone in an instant! Definately will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wycoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bake4fun
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This is definately a keeper!!! I made my own birthday cake with this recipe. I used the Cherry Pie filling recipe on this site (cut in half) and Sweetened Whipped Cream Recipe. Used 2 cup heavy cream, 5 Tbs Confectioners Sugar and 1 tsp vanilla. The cake was moist, fluffy and really good! It tasted like a bakery cake. I will use this recipe again for the chocloate cake. I did not use liqueur b/c I don't like liqueur on my cakes. Update*** I used 1 1/2 cups cherries, 1/4 cup sugar & 1 Tbs cornstarch for the filling. Follow diections for cherry pie filling. It was the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Perfect! The batter was really runny, but the cakes turned out so moist! (I used this recipe for cupcakes). I would definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolekrystyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
FANTASTIC!!!! Hubby requested a black forest cake for his Birthday and this is the recipe I decided on...everyone raved!!! Made as written, but did not use the liquor in the cherry filling due to the fact that kids were eating this as well, but I plan to try it that way another time. The cake is dense, but very moist. I topped mine with homemade chocolate/marshmallow buttercream. This cake will definately be made again and again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
AWESOME!! Moist, flavorful, delicious!! Best chocolate cake recipe I have found!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I did my own recipe for the cherry filling so I'm just reviewing the cake. Oh. My. Goodness. This is now my go-to chocolate cake recipe. It's so light and fluffy. I took it to my friend's birthday party and he could not stop talking about it and made everyone try it. I got a lot of compliments. Follow the cake recipe exactly. You won't be disappointed. I did do one thing differently though. I didn't have round pans so I used one 9x13 sheet cake pan. Baked about the same so you shouldn't need to adjust cooking times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Very good cake!! Best Black Forest cake I've ever made or tasted!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily McCann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ewa Lamb
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
The cake turned out nice and moist and tasty. Next time I make it I will add a chocolate mousse layer to the middle. Everyone loved it and thought it was delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Thanks for this recipe. It made rather a large cake for our small family so I sent some of it to my friends. Everyone who ate it asked for more and wanted the recipe too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States