Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Makes a great cake but I needed to add 1/2 cup more flour, it was a bit too runny...turned out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This cake turned out to be the most delicious and easy chocolate cake I have ever made. I also didn't put in the liquor since it was going to be served to children. The filling I used was raspberry pie filling. I topped the cake with more raspberry pie filling surrounded on the edges of the cake with real whipped cream. The cake keeps very well in the refrigerator for a few days, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Solon Springs, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thriftybob
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Made this and it came out real good. I never made a multi layer cake before. I goofed and added the kirchwasser to the batter, but was lucky i hadn't added the coffee, so I added less coffee. I substituted applesauce for 1/2 of the oil, and lemon juice for the vinegar. I had special dark cocoa, so that's what I used, but I ended up adding 1/4 cup more sugar to the batter to get it tasting sweet enough. I think I cooked it for 45 min or so before it wasn't too wet inside. I made a lower fat cream cheese icing, putting kirchwasser in it instead of vanilla, and it came out good, but I got bits of cake in it when I tried to spread it, and also had trouble with cherry from the filling getting into it on the sides where the layers join. I added some whipped cream on top of the cherries on top, but don't do that if you aren't going to eat it quick because the whipped cream lost its fluffiness pretty quick. I added mini chocolate chips on top so you don't notice the bits of cake in the icing. Maybe I shouldn't have trimmed the top layer? For a 1st try at making a cake it wasn't perfect, but tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
OMFG, this cake is AWESOME. However, I added a tablespoon of almond extract to the batter. Also, I made my own improv filling with cream, frozen cherries, corn starch, and almond extract. Best cake I've ever made in my life. My 4 yr old got this as her birthday cake and she doesn't even know the awesomeness... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is my favorite type of cake, and I wish I had more things to say about it. This is a hit every time, and if you like black forest cake, this is the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This cake was AMAZING! I didn't have any cherry liquor, so I just used a little Captain Morgan blended with powdered sugar, cream cheese and frozen cherries that I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This is hands down the best, most moist chocolate cake I have ever tasted. We've used it for birthday cakes or any occasion. The cherries are heavenly. Not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lula Grable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I made this cake for my daughter but changed the icing for her, she wanted chocolate. It came out wonderful. The cake itself is so yummy! Can't say enough good things about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Made this 3 times this summer. Recipe doubles & even triples well. If you run out of cocoa you can (as I did) substitute 150g melted dark chocolate whisked in at the same time as the sour milk. The result is more compact but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
The best cake. Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States