Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by PW
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made this recipe without any changes and it was absolutely phenomenal! Very moist and delicious! This is definitely one of the cakes I'll be making for my wedding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sinlychea
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I made this for my NYE party, followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! My family and guests were raving about it ! The cake is super rich, moist and dense and not too sweet!! Which is exactly how we like it! The sweetness and lightness of the cherry filling and whip cream complements the cake perfectly! Will definetly keep in my recipe box and make again !! 5**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sinlychea

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I love this recipe! It is not like other black forest cake recipes: no icing, no whipped cream. It is dark and rich and full of the smell of Kirschwasser! Very adult. You can always add ice cream or whipped cream on the side for those who want more sugar, but I think it is just great as is. A side note, I think the batter was kind of runny and so the cake was not quite done in the middle. Next time I am going to cut back on the coffee, maybe 1/4 to 1/2 c. less. But I don't think it hurt a thing in the long run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PEPRCHLI
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Everyone loved this cake ! Very good recipe but I did make some changes. Used Buttermilk instead of the sour milk. Used 1 cup plus 1 tablespoon. Also used Cherry pie filling mixed with 1/4 cup Ki. For filling . I used Chocolate Butter-Creme Frosting recipe for frosting the sides of the cake. I filled the cake with the whipped cream but also put a little Kir. And some Almond extract for a light cherry flavor. Loaded up the remaining cream and cherry filling on top and piped some cream around edges and tossed a little shaved chocolate on it. Beautiful and delicious!! From start to finish it took me about 3 hrs and 15 mins but worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
OMG this is the best freaking chocolate cake I've ever eaten. Yeah, the batter is a little runny, but it makes for the most moist cake you'll ever shove in your face. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
The taste of this cake is awesome! However, I live at high altitude and needed to add an extra egg, extra flour, little extra milk. Then placed entire batter into 8 inch cake pans. Thank goodness placed them on a cookie sheet. When I checked after about 20 minutes batter was bubbling out all over! Once it was done and out of the oven I got to taste it and it's delicious if a little unconventional looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I Had followed every single step from this recipe and video as well.. except I add 3 table spoon of dark rum inside the cake batter and half cup.of rum into cherry fillings...doesn't look like the video.. moist cake... mine look like hard like a rock chocolate rum cake.. . took me 2 hours to make that cake plus spent another hour to make fresh chocolate whipped cream and cherries to decorated the topping..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AKMONKI
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
It was the first (successful) black forest cake I've made, and I was surprisingly pleased with the end result. The batter smelled a bit burnt cooking in the oven (but the oven may have been on too high), and didn't wait long enough for them to cool before assembling, as I was in a rush. I poached some canned cherries and poured the sugar syrup over the cake layers to moisten it, then layered and covered the cake in hand-whipped cream. If I had timed things better, I think it would have been perfect! It was delicious for the next few days, so I think I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
The cake itself tasted good and was very moist. Using 8" cake pans made the cake too high for my carrier. Next time I'll do 4 thin 9" cakes. Of 11 people at the birthday party, no one liked the liqueur; everyone said they would have preferred just plain cherry pie filling. We all agreed that we don't want this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Youngsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I NEVER rate recipes on this site and I make at least one a week from this website but this recipe totally sucks! I wanted to use coffee in a recipe and came across this one. I LOVE black forest cake so I was excited to try it. I made it exactly according to instructions and the batter was not cooked all the way thru when it came out. It fell apart and so I was not able to make it look nice...all I can really say is BOOOOOO! to this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States