Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I made this cake for my husband's birthday, and we all agree the recipe is our new go-to chocolate cake recipe! For this particular recipe, I cut each layer in two, making 4 layers. I used 3 of those layers for the cake, putting a layer of whipping cream/powdered sugar mixture and a layer of cherries between each layer. I skipped the cherry liqueur altogether, and it wasn't missed. Great Black Forest Cake recipe and great go-to chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Amazing!!!! I made two because the first one went so fast!!! Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Yum....this cake was delicious. I made it in a 9x13 pan, which worked out great. I used kirsch as the liqueur in the cherry filling. I also filled the centre and covered the top with a whipped cream icing made with 3 cups of cool whip, 2/3 cup icing sugar and 2/3 cup sour cream. It is a nice stiff whipped cream that is very easy to work with and not too sweet. I will definitely be making this cake again. It got rave reviews! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Delicious and easy to make. Great bithday cake, I decorated it to look like the cake from Portal! It's my husband's favourite game :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tifer14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Haifa, Mehoz Hefa, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This cake was amazing. I was skeptical about the no frosting thing, but it totally didn't need it, and probably would have detracted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Fantastic recipe. Very very very easy to put together with excellent results. I substituted home-canned cherries & made the filling with them (added cornstarch & sugar); then I added some homemade berry liqueur, and it turned out magnificent. Great recipe if you've never made a black forest cake before. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I like this recipe for the chocolate cake. To rate it in a few simple words.... BEST CHOCOLATE CAKE EVER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anne
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Family loves this cake. To frost and assemble cake I use directions from "Black Forest Cake I".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This cake is fabulous. I made it for a German class party, and later on for a family dinner, and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelseyTheGreat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
first time making,made this for a co-workers birthday,made if four layers,and it was a so tasty. had several people ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States