Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made this cake for my fathers Birthday. It was a huge hit and requested again for Easter. I recommend cooking it alittle longer. My cake was great, but too moist to cut into 4 layers. So I just stacked my two 9" cakes on top of each other with cherries in the middle. I frosted the sides of my cake with chocolate frosting to keep cherry filling in. I then used homemade whipped topping on the edges and cherries on the top in the middle. It looked as good as it tasted. Its even better the next day after sitting in frig over night. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Followed exactly, wonderful chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by forevermcandbc
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Great recipe, I could not find cherry liquor so I used Smirnoff Pear rum and it turned out excellent!!!! YUMMY WILL MAKE AGAIn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forevermcandbc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Excellent! Didn't change a thing except I left out the cherry filling(didn't have any) & it came out perfect! love this & everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natkar06

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Great Recipe. I did not change a thing. It came out super moist and was a big hit with friends. I topped mine with homemade whipped cream, shaved chocolate and maraschino cherries . If I make it again I will probably be a bit more adventurous and make my own cherry filling. However, it was still very yummy with the canned filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Made this as a birthday cake. It was great!!!! I used a chocolate ganache for the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
FABULOUS! this recipe deserves its 5-stars! i will use this recipe also when i'm wanting just a simple chocolate cake. the cake was dense, moist and delicious! thanks for a great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I was only having a couple of friends over, so I baked it in a loaf pan (half of the recipe) and the other half as cupcakes. Also I only used 1/2 C of instant coffee (the only thing I had in hand) and didn't use the liqueur... just whipped cream and cherry pie filling. Wow! My friends were impressed. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kulsum khalid
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This is the best black forest recipe i have ever tried testes and tasted it is superb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This cake came out wonderfully! So moist and great taste. For the filling I made the chocolate cream cheese coconut frosting, and on the outside, I mixed whipped topping with 1/2 cup confectioners sugar, and 1/4 cup unsweetened chocolate power, I think next time I will make this into cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States