Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Clearly this recipe does not need another great review, but I just have to say this is an absolutely perfect recipe. I am desperately looking for another occasion to bake a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Mervyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Slighty difficult because I added 1 can of cranberry sauce. Thus increasing the volume of mix needed. I am doing a 3 layer cake for my father's birthday. I will everyone know how it turns out. What I mess I made in the kitchen! UPDATE!!! Came out watery so I added some more flour, soda, and powder. Cooked the 3 layers in different sized pyrex pans. WOW!!! I am impressed with the skills. Taste was a little strong but close enough. Also had to leave in for 20 minutes longer. Really a gem of a project. Filling is not yet done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roman Gabriel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lyralicious
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This is the best! Everyone loved it! They want more and there's nothing left for me to give haha! Thank you for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I am not a big fan of cake but I loved this recipe. So did everyone at the Christmas party I took it to! Everyone raved about the cake and asked for the recipe, . Cake was very moist and not too sweet. I used 3 teaspoons almond extract rather than the cherry liqueur and added whip cream design on sides and top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is good.. I like the cake, it is so rich, dark and moist. Next time I will try prune pie filing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HERLIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Priyanka_23
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I adore this recipe. I have made it several (hundred) times over the past 3+ years and it has turned out perfect every single time! I am not a very experienced baker and this was one of the first cakes I made from scratch. It came out springy, spongey and moist...and I have been in love ever since. A couple of times I didn't have any cherry liqueur on hand - I used 1/2 cup of the liquid from the maraschino cherries jar, it worked out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crystalle
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is the second time I've baked this recipie and it is just awesome. The taste the moistness ....Just love everything about this cake. Thank you for this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I hadn't had black forest cake since I was a child. Just as yummy as I remember! Great recipe, and fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Can't say enough good things about this cake. Super easy to make and it comes out so moist and flavourful. I've made it many times and it never fails to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NipsyLinz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I make this cake every year for my husband and for my brother on their birthdays..I top with maarscarpone frosting and it's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States