Jenn's Out Of This World Spaghetti and Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2005
My husband and I really loved this dish. I didn't use tomato paste because I didn't have any and I used brown sugar instead of white. It was great! I will definitely make this a regular in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Overall this was excellent. However, I thought it was too sweet, so I had to add more tomatoes. I would recommend adding 1/4 cup or less. Start out with a little sugar and keep adding until it suites your taste. I used ground turkey for the meatballs and they were tender and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
This recipe did not come out at all. I thought it was odd that the meatballs weren't browned first. They didn't cook well in the sauce because they were too mushy. I ended up taking them out of the sauce and trying to brown them. They still came out mushy! The whole recipe was a disaster! I don't know what mistake I may have made, but I don't dare attempt to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by redpaint
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
I made few changes to the recipe (I added black olives and one green chilly pepper to make it hotter, and used less sugar), and over all it was very easy to make. I served it with tri color ritini pasta, because I didnt have spaghetti, and it was great. we loved it, and will make it again. I also submitted a photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bydgoszcz, Kuyavian-Pomeranian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This was really good. I've made these a dozen times and have fine tuned the recipe. Instead of 3 cans of tomato paste, I just use one can and 1/8 cup of sugar. I add a 16oz can of tomato sauce to the receipe (you can keep the one cup of water). Definately use the fresh ingredients. I tried without and it's terrible. After it's cooked, transfer it to a slowcooker to warm for about an hour. I accidentally discovered this, but it enfuses all the flavors and gives a wonderful consistency to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I liked this recipe, except it was way to sweet. I am eager to make it again without the sugar. The meatballs were perfect and I liked that I didn't have to brown them first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This is a great recipe thanks a bunch. The only thing I did different is cooked it in my slowcooker all day, and read other reviews and used a quarter cup of sugar and it was perfect! No problems with the meatballs at all. Maybe because I wasen't standing over my slow cooker stirring it and making them fall apart. Delicious meal, will definately cook again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I only used the meatball recipe, but it was so good that I can't wait to try the sauce too! I used ground beef that had a very low fat content(I didn't want the fat renduring into my sauce). They were tender and flavorful! Great for pasta or even Meatball Subs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glittergirl94

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I loved this recipe! The meatballs were great and it was nice to just throw them in the sauce and let them cook as the sauce simmered. Thanks Jenn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WREDWRUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newbury, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Awesome! Reminded me of when I was a kid. A little too sweet for the family so next time I'll cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup. My husband commented that a "can or two of those mushrooms would be good" -- will try that next time. The convenience of letting the meatballs simmer was terrific! Served with Mozzarella Garlic French Bread and we have a winner on our hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 573) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States