Jenn's Out Of This World Spaghetti and Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This ended up tasting too bland for me but I am not sure why. It looks like it should have had a lot of flavor. I ended up throwing in a bunch more spices like thyme and a little worcestershire and even powdered garlic which was on top of the garlic cloves already in the recipe. Also, if you make this I recommend putting something chunky in the sauce for texture... like mushrooms or olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Made this yesterday, using reviews to tweak. Hubby loves lots of sauce, so I used 1 large can crushed tomatoes, one large can sauce and a 12 oz can paste. Also pureed 2 carrots, one onion, one green pepper, fresh garlic and a drained can of mushrooms (son will eat this if he cannot see the veggies but if left in visible chunks all bets are off!) and sauteed that with 12 oz. wine before adding tomato products. Added 2 cups water, worcestershire sauce and 3/4 cup sugar. Down south we like it sweet, like our tea! In trying to avoid nasty filler in ground beef, I used round steak that I ground in my Kitchen Aid mixer for ground beef and followed recipe according to instructions. Very tender and delicious! Served over whole wheat angel hair pasta and froze the leftovers. YUMMY!!! Served with home made whole wheat french bread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodfood4ursoul

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
my rating is sauce only as i didn't make the meatballs either time - but i did split the batch following exactly, and following my instincts. i do agree with other posters who reduced the tomato paste, and consequently the sugar. i used a 30oz can crushed tomato, a squirt from concentrated paste in a tube, and a 15oz can fire roasted diced tomatoes (i then put a stick blender in to get rid of all tomato/onion/garlic chunks which DH doesn't like) because i used my last can of sauce on the 'to a T' version. i used 2T sugar and added approx 1.5 cans water to taste. Here is the kicker: the next time I made it I started off with a HOT salted cast iron dutch oven. i quickly browned 1 lb stew beef. remove the beef, cool the pan, then proceed with the sauce recipe, pulling up the brown bits. add the meat back in to simmer. HOLY COW that is perfect with this sauce! I think fresh oregano is the key. I also used a tiny bit of fresh rosemary and added ground black pepper. awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This was so yummy. Followed recommended modifications from reviewer yoshiyum. (sort reviewers by most helpful and they come up first). I loved the idea that the meatballs cooked right in the sauce and no need to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Really good meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
way too sugary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Best I have ever had!!!! Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Fantastic recipe and very easy to follow. Your friends and family will think you slaved all day in the kitchen making this dish. I also took the leftover sauce and meatballs and used them on rolls for a perfect meatball sandwhich. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Good basic recipe. I was afraid 1/2 cup of sugar would make the sauce too sweet, so I started with 1/4 cup, but ended up adding another 1/4 cup of sugar. I added fresh basil just before serving. Instead of just ground beef in the meatballs, I used a combination of ground beef, mild and hot Italian sausage to give the meatballs more zip. Overall, this is a good recipe, but a bit one dimensional in flavor. I suggest you add your favorite seasonings to this recipe as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
My family loves this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 579) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States