Jenn's Out Of This World Spaghetti and Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Great spaghetti sauce - if you cut back on the sugar that is.... I cut it back to 3 Tbsp. and that was about right for us. I also used 2 cans of tomato paste and one 8 oz. can of tomato sauce. Instead of 1 cup of water I used half water and half red wine. I didn't have fresh oregano so I used 1 Tbsp. of dried and added a few more spices: 2 tsp. of dried basil, 1/4 tsp. of red pepper flakes, 1/2 tsp. of salt along with the bay leaf. I let it simmer on low for 6 hours. I didn't make the meatballs so this review is for the sauce only. I used "The Best Meatballs" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Love this recipe. I substituted onion with some Mrs. Dash onion and herb seasoning and I used dried bay leaf flakes that I had. These where the only changes I made and it was wonderful! I agree with the other reviews about the sweetness and next time I will use less sugar. I can't wait until summer when I can try using my own fresh tomatoes and herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I made the sauce with half the amount of sugar and it still tasted like we were licking sugar out of the bowl. The meatballs were tasty but I would like to keep looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Great sauce, but used half the sugar and used three cans of diced tomatos, 1 15 oz can of tomato sauce and 1 can tomato paste, doubled the meatballs. Family loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Seabeck, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
A great go-to homemade spaghetti/meatballs. I love the simplicity of cooking the meatballs directly in the sauce. A hit at my house. Followed reviews for using some tomato sauce, more water and less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I made these for my husband's birthday dinner and our whole family loved them! I added some red wine to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Did not care for this recipe...way too much sugar. I llike my sauce sweet, but 1/2 was too much. The meatballs were okay. There is another spaghetti and meatballs recipe on this site "Italian spaghetti and meatballs" is the name of the recipe (I think). That recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was AMAZING! I've never been able to find a good and easy homeade marinara before, 'til now! I did decrease the amount of sugar due to other's suggestions, but also added half a jar of roasted red peppers that were hanging around in the fridge that needed to be used up. I used my immersion blender to chop it all up in the end after simmering but before I put the meatballs in. This was so good that my hubby and I had nothing to say while eating...we had the most quiet dinner of our lives! Thanks so much for sharing this winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KPO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
These Meatballs were Very good. I don't think you could go wrong with these. I was in a hurry and was adding ingriedents without measuring, (they came out a little oregenoie ) But they were still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was pretty good. I cut the sugar down quite a bit and it still was a bit too sweet. I think the next time I make this I will add a bunch of vegetables to the mix because the sauce was a bit overpowering as far as tomato flavor goes. Thanks for a good base recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 566) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States