Jenn's Out Of This World Spaghetti and Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
The sauce is too sweet for my taste. I was looking for something a little more dynamic, but this is alright for a more basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I tried to scale this gravy down a little as I was only feeding two people. I used two (15 oz) cans crushed tomatoes, 1 can (6 oz) tomato paste and only 1/2 cup chicken stock, NOT water, I added 3 cloves of roasted garlic and almost 1 tsp of sugar to the gravy. I added some fresh minced basil and very little oregano to the gravy plus the bay leaf. To the meatballs, I added fresh basil and also little oregano. (I actually never add oregano to meatballs but was curious to see how this would turn out). I added the rest of the ingredients to the meatball mixture then rolled them up into meatballs and placed them onto a baking sheet. I baked the meatballs at 350 degrees for 20 minutes until brown, then added it to the gravy. I found that the gravy needed a little something so I added a little red wine, pinch of red pepper flakes, and some parmesan cheese. I simmered the gravy for about 45 to 55 minutes. The gravy was good but the meatballs I liked a lot more. Not dry, but tender and flavorful. I am glad that I did not add a lot of fresh oregano. I still had enough gravy leftover for another meal. Next time I might cut back on the amount of crushed tomatoes. I served this gravy over spaghetti and "garlic bread", also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This ended up tasting too bland for me but I am not sure why. It looks like it should have had a lot of flavor. I ended up throwing in a bunch more spices like thyme and a little worcestershire and even powdered garlic which was on top of the garlic cloves already in the recipe. Also, if you make this I recommend putting something chunky in the sauce for texture... like mushrooms or olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Made this yesterday, using reviews to tweak. Hubby loves lots of sauce, so I used 1 large can crushed tomatoes, one large can sauce and a 12 oz can paste. Also pureed 2 carrots, one onion, one green pepper, fresh garlic and a drained can of mushrooms (son will eat this if he cannot see the veggies but if left in visible chunks all bets are off!) and sauteed that with 12 oz. wine before adding tomato products. Added 2 cups water, worcestershire sauce and 3/4 cup sugar. Down south we like it sweet, like our tea! In trying to avoid nasty filler in ground beef, I used round steak that I ground in my Kitchen Aid mixer for ground beef and followed recipe according to instructions. Very tender and delicious! Served over whole wheat angel hair pasta and froze the leftovers. YUMMY!!! Served with home made whole wheat french bread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodfood4ursoul

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
my rating is sauce only as i didn't make the meatballs either time - but i did split the batch following exactly, and following my instincts. i do agree with other posters who reduced the tomato paste, and consequently the sugar. i used a 30oz can crushed tomato, a squirt from concentrated paste in a tube, and a 15oz can fire roasted diced tomatoes (i then put a stick blender in to get rid of all tomato/onion/garlic chunks which DH doesn't like) because i used my last can of sauce on the 'to a T' version. i used 2T sugar and added approx 1.5 cans water to taste. Here is the kicker: the next time I made it I started off with a HOT salted cast iron dutch oven. i quickly browned 1 lb stew beef. remove the beef, cool the pan, then proceed with the sauce recipe, pulling up the brown bits. add the meat back in to simmer. HOLY COW that is perfect with this sauce! I think fresh oregano is the key. I also used a tiny bit of fresh rosemary and added ground black pepper. awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This was so yummy. Followed recommended modifications from reviewer yoshiyum. (sort reviewers by most helpful and they come up first). I loved the idea that the meatballs cooked right in the sauce and no need to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Really good meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
way too sugary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Best I have ever had!!!! Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 572) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States