Jenn's Out Of This World Spaghetti and Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is my go to spaghetti recipe when I have the time! The meatballs are delicious and the sauce is super yummy. I do add some cayenne for a little heat. Other wise I don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShawnsChef
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I used only 1/4 cup sugar (I cannot IMAGINE how sweet this would be with the full 1/2 cup....it'd be like candy!)....a little extra olive oil, a whole yellow onion, only 2 cans tomato paste and maybe 3/4 cup water (I like a thicker sauce) and I doubled the meatball recipe to accommodate another pound of beef. This was very good. Cooking the meatballs in the sauce made them very tender. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Loved it! We made a few changes based on what we had around the house, but stuck to the heart of the recipe. We browned the meatballs in the pan before adding them to the sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Holy sugar, Batman! I am known for my sweet tooth, but this was just ridiculous. Had I known, I would have cut the sugar amount in half -- at least! You need some to counteract the acidity of the tomatoes, but a 1/2 cup is what you'd put in cookies, not tomato sauce. I had to add almost a cup of cooking wine and tons of salt, and they still didn't mask the overwhelmingly sweet taste. I thought the rest of the recipe was pretty good, so next time I'll add more olive oil (there was no olive flavor at all, and you'll note that many pros use olive oils in their tomato sauce to give it a rich flavor). I did take another reviewer's suggestion and used only one 6-oz. can of tomato paste and added a 15-oz. can of tomato sauce. Also, I used no water. I can't imagine adding water! If anything, I would sub it with cooking wine (or drinking wine). Why waste flavor on water as an ingredient?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I'm not sure why I was sort of leery of cooking the meatballs right in the sauce, but I was. Boy, was I wrong on that one. They were excellent! I did have about 1/3 cup of ricotta I wanted to use so I threw that in the meatballs and only added 3 tablespoons of sugar. This will be the only way I cook meatballs from now on. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
These were really good and so easy!! My family enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I made this for my family and it was a hugh hit! I brought left overs to work and had to share the meatballs, they smelled so good. Next batch has to be enough for everyone to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
wish I would have read ALL the reviews before making this.. I hesitantly used all the sugar and shouldnt have. Really sweet. I wouldnt use more than 2 Tbs. next time. Also may take the advice on using 1 less tom. paste and one more tom. sauce instead.?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I thought this recipe came out pretty well. I omitted the sugar and added some carrot. I used oatmeal in the meatballs instead of bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Really good. I wish I added a bit more salt to the meatballs though...I was afraid to oversalt. As others suggested, I used 2 cups water, 3 T sugar, and used 2 8oz tomato sauces instead of 2 of the tomato pastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 573) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States