Jenn's Out Of This World Spaghetti and Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
The rating is for the meatballs only (always use store bought sauce- too time consuming to make the sauce AND the meatballs for a large group). Loved them! The recipe is a great starter recipe- easy to customize based on individual preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy Bear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Meatballs were GREAT. BUt the sauce was too sweet and too bland. I had to doctor it up a LOT and add extra water and more crushed tomatoes to mask some of the sweetness (and I didn't even use all of the sugar). Then I still had to throw in a lot more garlic and other spices. The meatballs are a keeper, but I won't be making this sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Fabulous. I agree with others to halve the sugar. I added basil and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I made the recipe as listed with the following exceptions: used dried oregano and parsley versus fresh and only used 3/4 of the sugar called for. The meatballs are perfect but the sauce is way too sweet, even with me cutting it down. Other than the sweetness, it is good so I will definitely make again but will likely only use 2-3 Tbsp of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Amazing! I did make a few of the changes others suggested: 1)Swap 3 cans of paste for one can of paste + a 15 oz. can of sauce. 2)Use 2 cups water instead of one. 3) Use only 2 T sugar. I also used 2 bay leaves and added Cajun seasoning. You can also use dried oregano and parsley, just reduce to 4 tsp. instead of 1/4 cup. Ok, so that does sound like a lot of changes. But it turned out so good - with these changes it would definitely get 5 stars. It was a little blander as written. I will never buy jarred sauce again. The meatballs were perfect as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Best authentic meatballs I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My family and I love this recipe. I make it all of the time. I increase the water to 1 cup and reduce the sugar to a 1/4 a cup and its perfect. I will never buy canned spaghetti sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjwhee29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Go lite on the sugar and it has a lot of potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This rating is for the sauce only..I used my own recipe for the meatballs. I followed this recipe exactly. The only change I made was that I did half a recipe. I thought the sweetness and amount of tomato paste was fine, but could see how it may not be right for some people. It reminded me of a sauce that a friend used to make back in Chicago and I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Delicious! I make my own sauce so all I did was follow the recipe for the meatballs and added them to my sauce. The meatballs had such great flavor! I will definitely be adding this to my recipe repertoire! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States