Jennifer's Thai Curried Peanut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
We're vegan, so I replaced the butter with soy margarine and used vegetable stock. I also added a few Middle Eastern spices, as with just the curry powder and red pepper it was still quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Made this for a Thai themed party and it went over smashingly. I skipped the pepper and used mild curry. Lite coconut, reduced sodium broth and reduced fat peanut butter but everyone love it. I double the recipt and got about 9-10 cups out of it. Fab...def making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is wonderful !!! I used small pieces of cubed chicken (which I browned of course). I also garnished with green onions. It's heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber McNeece Yates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saucier, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I made this soup using the peanut butter sparingly because of a review. For our tastes I'm glad I did. Even cutting it by half was too strong for us. So next time I will add the peanut butter by tablespoonfuls at a time, tasting after each addition. Otherwise, it is a good full flavored soup. A little goes a long way and is good with toasted buttered bread points. I feel it's more for a Thai starter dish before the actual main meal because of the richness. The soup takes on a much better flavor after sitting for a few hours. Makes all the difference. Update: After making this a few times now, I only use 1/2 can coconut milk. (We just like the flavor better.) Another update: I've noticed some brands of peanut butter are milder than others, thus taking more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This soup is freaking amazing. I am single and live alone, up in the mountains, and I love to make soup. This is a great one, and it freezes very well also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Apparently we just do not like this kind of soup. We eat alot of different kinds of foods (culturally), and the only one who liked it was my husband - and there are six of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I never review recipes and I am not a huge fan of soups.... but I absolutely LOVE this soup! I tweak the recipe by adding a store bought roasted chicken cubed and I really like the peanut butter flavor so I use a little extra and sustitue chunky PB. I don't put it in the blender I like it chunky! Thanks Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Best soup ever. I never write reviews, but this is worth it. I've made it exactly as is and also customized it by adding carrots, cubed potatoes (at same time as celery) and I always add tiny pieces of broccoli at the end to keep that crisp. I'm sure one can add other ingredients to customize it. It's our favorite. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I had chosen this recipe because of the good ratings but was not pleased. I followed directions completely and it didn't turn out like the Thai restaurant. It tasted too much like peanut butter. My whole family disliked it and we ended up pouring it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Very good, and VERY rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States