Jennifer's Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Great tasting easy granola! I too substituted bran for the wheat germ and flax and I mixed ALL my wet ingredients together before adding to the oats/nuts. I think it was evenly coated this way. I baked it for the full hour, and stirred it every twenty minutes and it came out nicely toasted. It doesn't really clump but I put it in yogurt with some berries and it's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hula_Kahlua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
It seems that most reviews that appear at this site are really ADAPTATIONS of recipes. I find very few reviews that reflect the recipes exactly as they are presented, so let me state that I made this granola with no adaptations or substitutions. Having said that, I think this granola tastes good, but it is soggy, and what disappointed me most is the fact that the granola doesn't hold together in clumps. It is very loose and is best eaten with a spoon. The taste is good, but I wish it were more like the store-bought granola that is so readily available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Great granola recipe. My only changes: I don't use the nuts/seeds listed. I add 1 cup nuts (walnuts usually). After cooked, stir in about 1 cup dried fruit of choice. Perfect. Made an apple cinnamon granola (added chopped dried apples and extra cinnamon after cooking) and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I make this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Very good granola! One suggestion- put it in two 9x13 pans to bake it because one pan doesn't allow much room for stirring, and it browns more evenly when it's in a thinner layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie N Matt Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This recipe is great and it is easy to change a few things. My changes: I use 6 cups of oats instead of 4 (makes a bigger batch and more lowfat). I also usually use walnuts instead of almonds and I add about 1/2 cup almond meal. I also mix together the canola oil, water, cinnamon, brown sugar, and vanilla and cook it on the stove until it comes to a boil. Makes the granola less gritty with the brown sugar and cinnamon dissolved. I also add a teaspoon of almond extract to the above mixture and it is delicious and I use just a squeeze of honey or even skip it. I like to add dried cranberries, raisins, and dried cherries when the granola is toasted and cooled. Excellent and a lot healthier than the granola you buy at the store...and a lot cheaper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
great granola recipe. I omitted the nuts because my kids are allergic and it still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Really liked it. Tried to make it just as the recipe says, except I used virgin coconut oil in place of the canola oil. Less cooking time next time, but really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Great recipe for getting your protein. I don't add the brown sugar and use 1/2 cup honey total, use wheat bran instead of germ and no-sugar-added orange juice instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This is a delicious and versatile granola. The base of honey and brown sugar gives it a rich flavor. Any nuts and seeds you like can be substituted for those in the recipe, and it's great with dried fruit mixed in. The cook time was perfect for my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States