Jennifer's Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
4.5 stars. Big hit in the house, for kids and adults. I did not have all of the ingredients, so used oats and nuts but no flax seed or wheat germ. Also I used applesauce because we were out of oil. Having said that, the flavor was great. I did have to keep breaking up the pieces while it was cooking, but some of them just didn't get small enough, and those pieces are more chewy. I like my granola to have a good crunch and the smaller pieces definitely have it. Perhaps if I had used the oil instead of applesauce, the problem would be solved? We'll know next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I haven't made granola for many years but recently have been eating more nuts & seeds so thought I'd try making some. The proportions of things is great.Because I'm a mild diabetic I used mostly sugar free syrup with just a tablespoon or two of real maple syrup. I also left out the brown sugar & cinnamon and no salt. I was concerned that with little real sugar in it that it wouldn't caramelize but it's wonderful. Top with some Greek Yogurt and you have a great start to any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marg Woods
Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Very appley not a huge fane of apple flavoring just thought it was a substitute for oil but not this time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
so crunchy and good! not too sweet - never buying expensive boxed surgary granola again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I made this as written and it was chewy, not crunchy. Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I added 6 fresh chopped dates to the dry ingredients. Also instead of wheat germ, I added 1/2 cup of raw pumpkin seeds, 1/4 cup chia seeds and 1/4 cup buckwheat groats. Instead of 1/2 cup water I added 1/2 cup Organic Blue Agave and 1/4 cup of water. I also increased the cinnamon to 1 tbls. Oh, also add 1/2 cup of coconut. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi MacDonald

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Loved it! Wasn't too sweet, but the kids still really enjoyed it!! I ran out of flax seed, so I added chia seeds instead. I left them whole and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Just made this granola and it is pretty darn tasty! I substituted unsweetened applesauce for the oil and omitted the salt. After it cooled I tossed in a cup of dried cranberries and a cup of peanut butter chips. The hour to cook was fine. I will definitely make this again and probably do a double batch. *UPDATE* I made a couple of tweaks: Increased the honey to 1/2 a cup and tossed it every 15 min. since it was a little burnt on the first batch. This recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This was my first time making granola and it turned out pretty good. I cut down on the salt a little just because I used salted sunflower seeds, and I used wheat bran instead of wheat germ because it was what I had on hand. The flavor was good, but next time I will probably make more of the liquid mixture to try to get it to clump better. It was very crumbly, but maybe homemade granola is supposed to be that way. I have nothing to compare it to, so I'm just going to play around until it gets to a texture that I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
this is the best I've had. I only had coconut oil so i used it. I added more nut. I can't be with out this. It lasted for 1 month in glass sealed container. TY Jen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States