Jennifer's Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I would make this again. I made it for the first time as written. Texture wise it came out great. Next time I will do as others suggest and reduce the salt, probably to 3/4 t. I will either add more honey or sub maple syrup as other reviewers suggested. I suggest you taste the wet mixture to see if it is sweet enough for your taste before you combine with the dry mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This granola recipe is almost perfect for me, because it isn't too sweet and sticky. The only things I tweaked were to make the 1/2 C of flax seeds to also include sesame seeds, both regular and black. Then I switched out the pecans for salted peanuts and reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp. I also added 1/2 C coconut. After the baking, when it had cooled a little, I added diced, dried mango and Craisins. Super yummy! I will look no further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrice Bentley
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I followed this recipe to the letter with the exception of adding craisins in the end. My family and I love it just the way it is. it's very easy to make and very tasty. Of all the granola recipes I've tried over the years, by far this is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrice Bentley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I substituted coconut oil for the canola oil. This is a good basic recipe. I plan to add raisins in my next bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
4.5 stars. Big hit in the house, for kids and adults. I did not have all of the ingredients, so used oats and nuts but no flax seed or wheat germ. Also I used applesauce because we were out of oil. Having said that, the flavor was great. I did have to keep breaking up the pieces while it was cooking, but some of them just didn't get small enough, and those pieces are more chewy. I like my granola to have a good crunch and the smaller pieces definitely have it. Perhaps if I had used the oil instead of applesauce, the problem would be solved? We'll know next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I haven't made granola for many years but recently have been eating more nuts & seeds so thought I'd try making some. The proportions of things is great.Because I'm a mild diabetic I used mostly sugar free syrup with just a tablespoon or two of real maple syrup. I also left out the brown sugar & cinnamon and no salt. I was concerned that with little real sugar in it that it wouldn't caramelize but it's wonderful. Top with some Greek Yogurt and you have a great start to any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marg Woods
Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Very appley not a huge fane of apple flavoring just thought it was a substitute for oil but not this time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
so crunchy and good! not too sweet - never buying expensive boxed surgary granola again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I made this as written and it was chewy, not crunchy. Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I added 6 fresh chopped dates to the dry ingredients. Also instead of wheat germ, I added 1/2 cup of raw pumpkin seeds, 1/4 cup chia seeds and 1/4 cup buckwheat groats. Instead of 1/2 cup water I added 1/2 cup Organic Blue Agave and 1/4 cup of water. I also increased the cinnamon to 1 tbls. Oh, also add 1/2 cup of coconut. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi MacDonald

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Breakfast Granola Cups

Edible containers of baked granola for yogurt and berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States