Jennifer's Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Yummy! Love it! I did make a few changes, however ... I used unsweetened applesauce instead of oil; I used All-Bran instead of the wheat germ and flax seed meal; and I used Splenda Brown Sugar mixture instead of regular brown sugar ... oh, and I didn't have any honey, so I used sugar-free maple syrup. It is really great, and this way it is lower-fat/lower calories, but I will probably only use about 1/3 of the recommended salt next time. And, unlike many of the granola recipes out there, it DOES make the "clumps" that make it yummy to eat just out of the bag OR w/ milk/soy milk. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Very easy. I didn't use sunflower seeds, i just put more nuts. Just keep an eye on it. My first batch was toasted before the hour was up. It's also very versatile: I made one once batch with walnuts, and after baking stirred in pieces of dried apples and raisins, and anther batch with almonds and pecans and almond extract instead of vanilla, then stirred in dried cranberries after baking. In the future, i plan on just making a double batch and keeping toasted nuts and dried fruits on hand to make up a different flavor every morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zagmek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Wonderful, versatile recipe! I omitted the brown sugar and used 1/3 cup real maple syrup instead of honey; decreased the oil to 1/4 cup; and I used slivered instead of sliced almonds for more texture. Oh, I might have tossed some oat bran in there too. Didn't miss the sugar at all, and I like things sweet. Mine only took maybe 40-45 minutes to bake. When cool, I added some dried blueberries - Delicious, chunky, perfectly flavored granola!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
This granola is so good that I can't stop eating it!! I used All-Bran cereal instead of the wheat germ and flax meal, Splenda baking mix instead of the brown sugar, and sugar-free maple syrup for the honey. I used a combination of almond/vanilla extract and a combo of walnuts and peanuts. SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Awesome recipe. This was the first granola I ever made and it turned out great. The only thing was the day after I made it, it got chewy, so I put it in the oven again for 20 min and it crisped right back up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I love this recipe. I do recommend checking after 35 minutes. The first time I made it an hour was too long and it got really brown, although we still ate it and it was good. Second time I only baked it about 40 minutes any longer it would have been too dark. I did add dried cranberries after it cooled. Also, I used part melted Smart Balance butter spread and oil. It's better than any store bought granola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Perfect recipe. One idea that works well for me too - heat the oil and honey (and maybe some maple syrup too...just a little) in the microwave and add it to the mixture. it keeps the granola soft and nice in texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Too much salt, not much other flavoring. After I baked it, I mixed more honey, vanilla and cinnamon and remixed and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allegan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Love this!!!! I have made at least 4 batches in the last couple months and it is soooo YUMMY! I'm sure you could add/ sub different nuts and ingredients easily. A small bowl also fills me up and keeps me full for a long long period of time so I am not snacking on unhealthy foods throughout the day = )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaclyn & Anthony

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livingston, California, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
LOVE THIS. I'm eating it right now with milk and I'm totally enjoying every bite. The best granola I've had. I only had almonds so I did a cup of those and a 1/2 cup of coconut. Also way more cinnamon and salt and some maple syrup. Going to add some dried fruit to it as well. GREAT recipe and it doesn't hurt your jaw to chew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States