Jennifer's Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Overall good recipe. I love the texture - the granola clumps just enough without turning into a solid mass. The combination of grains and nuts also gives a great texture. However, I agree with other users who say that there's WAY too much salt and not enough other flavors. I love salty snacks, but wasn't a big fan of the salty granola - it overpowered other tastes. If you are used to eating a lot of nutty grains the flavor is perfect if you cut back on salt. I added about 1/2 cup of raisins to give it some natural sweetness. I'll add more dried fruit next time for more sweet taste, especially since I'm making it to share with my young kids who will eat a lot of whole grains only if I mask them with enough other flavors. Definitely a more "grown up" taste with the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
super easy to tweek for what is in your kitchen. I have made this now four times in two weeks. I love having it on-hand and to put in jars to give for gifts. I omitted the flax seed and wheat germ this last time. I used pumpkin seeds, raw whole almonds and walnuts for nuts. The last 20 minutes I put in some crasins and raisins. And used Agave for honey and olive oil (light) instead of canola. And no cinnamon because I don't care for it that much. The granola still turned out great the forth time and I know I will keep changing it up as well as go back to the real recipe. This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This granola is wonderful, and super easy to make! I double the recipe and keep it in the pantry for up to a month. A very easy recipe to tweak based on your preferences. I double the honey and put in whole almonds and dried cranberries. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Very easy to make, & fun too! I couldn't find any sliced almonds/pecans, so I just smashed them with a nifty tool :) The only thing I dislike about the granola is that the honey and cinnamon flavors can hardly be detected in it. Next time I make this, I'll add a teaspoon more of cinnamon and maybe 1/4 cup more of honey c:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I have made the less salt/add coconut version 3 times in last 2 weeks... love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Very yummy!!! All I did was sub 1 1/2 cups All bran for the wheat germ and flax seed, as suggested by other reviewers. I may try to sub applesauce for the oil and cut some of the sugar next time around, just to make it a bit healthier. But it is really good as is! Can't stop munching on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Pretty good! I am going to use it with yogurt and berries. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This stuff is great as long as you bake it long enough. I had to stir it every few minutes so maybe that's why it took longer to bake - but my advise is - don't take it out until it is more than golden brown. We love this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This is eaten almost every day at my house! I put it over oatmeal in place of sugar. I've used chopped walnuts in place of the almonds and love that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
average - on par with all other granola recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Breakfast Granola Cups

Edible containers of baked granola for yogurt and berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States