Jennifer's Burgundy Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Absolutely fantastic! I used tri tip steak strips cut into small chunks and marinated the meat for a couple hours prior to cooking. I also added 4 stalks of celery and a dash of cayenne pepper. Best stew we have ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This was good all on its own ... but the second time I added some low-sodium beef gravy mix to help thicken it up and add a little more flavor. Also a couple ok maybe a few more splashes of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beallboysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is outstanding just the way it is! The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Followed the recipe, with the exceptions of using merlot instead of burgundy and using fresh thyme instead of dried. The meat needed about one and one-half hours to become tender though, so be sure to allow some extra time because of this. This was a satisfying dinner on a very cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Wowzers this was good! Made this exactly as written, except I skipped the marjoram because I didn't have any. I added a little rosemary to make up for it. It thickened up perfectly, and was nice and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Tried this today and it was delicious - even if I did have to substitute a Merlot for the Burgundy (only red wine I had on hand). The long simmer just helped the wine flavor make the gravy rich, without any alcohol taste left behind. Next time I might add a little less liquid, because I prefer a slightly thicker gravy, but that's the only change I'd make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Nice texture and I liked the addition of mushrooms with the Burgundy wine; however, the finished product was still rather bland. My kids liked it, but hubby thought it was only edible. The search for a good beef stew will continue for me (it is my Achilles heel)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Delicious!! I served it over egg noddles. I don't usually like stews but this was amazing! My super picky husband even had 3 servings! I need to add a little more of both liquids toward the end but I think that is because I added too many mushrooms and they absorbed a lot of liquid. I will add more carrots next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Good flavor. A thick stew that wasn't very attractive in colour the next day (grey), but still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was terrific! Such a classic comfort recipe. I let it simmer for quite a while to make sure the onion was soft and let the flavors sink into the mushrooms. The consistency was perfect, and the smell filled the whole house! I might add a bay leaf next time, but otherwise no changes. This is definitely going into the regular winter rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States