Jennie's Heavenly Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was delicious! I used regular cream of mushroom soup instead of the golden mushroom. I used wine and thought it worked perfectly. I also added some parmesean/romano to the crockpot at the end. Changes for next time will be to add some sauteed mushrooms and to season the chicken before putting it in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tabernacle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poenut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selma, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
My family said that they really liked it, so this is a keeper for me! I've made it twice now, and even my picky toddler enjoys it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I don't know if I did something wrong or if this dish is just not my favorite. To me, it was sort of bland. The sauce reminded me of beef stroganoff sauce so I think that might have been a distraction from what it actually is supposed to taste like. The chicken was super tender. Everyone that I made if for (9 people) really liked it, so I think I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I volunteered to bring this dish to a pre-Thanksgiving lunch and found I lost the recipe. Total panic. Finally found it. I tweak it a bit. Use low fat cream cheese, lose the butter and use mushroom soup. 100 years ago when I had my first crockpot, I had a recipe for chicken with sour cream and tarragon so I add a dollop of sour cream and tarragon to taste. Somewhere along the line, I add a good splash of white wine. This time, no one will want a whole chicken breast so I intend to cut the chicken into bite size pieces and brown them lightly with a sprinkling of garlic salt. I love this recipe and have been known to stand over the crock pot slurping up the sauce. I personally think it's best over fresh linguine topped with fresh chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was a great recipe served over pasta. Adding a good amount of sliced, fresh mushrooms really added to it. In addition to the wine I did add some chicken broth. I found that the first time I made this, the flavor of the Italian seasoning lessened the longer it cooked. So, I decided to stir the seasoning in the crockpot midway through the cooking time, that way it retained the italian seasoning flavor. I also sauteed some garlic and shallots and added that midway through the cooking as well and that really made the flavor pop. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This was AMAZING! I threw this into the crock pot around 1pm and had dinner ready at 5:30. I didn't have any Italian Dressing Mix, so I searched and found a recipe for one on this site and scaled it down to what I need to the recipe. It was very easy! Oh, I think the only thing I did differently, only by accident, was to use 1 cup, instead of 1/2 cup of chicken broth instead of wine. I didn't have any white wine on hand, but the broth worked beautifully. I shredded the chicken into the sauce and served it over 7 cheese tortellini from Costco. My husband and both my kids(2 and 5) enjoyed it. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I made this for dinner last night. It was a little like the crockpot Italian chicken recipe that has been going around (cream cheese and Italian dressing) which I have made before and my family loved so I knew that this one would be a hit, as well. And it was. My husband and daughter scarfed it down. I doubled the sauce recipe and used 2/3 of a cup of regular Italian dressing instead of the dry stuff because that's what I had. I also added a whole onion and some mushrooms. It smelled fabulous while cooking and tasted declicious. I put it over rice. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtdewaddict82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
My husband "LOVED IT"....I however thought it was just ok. Probably wouldn't make it again, unless he begged me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Husband was totally impressed! This had to be one of the easiest and the most flavorful chicken dishes I've ever made! It also kept the chicken moist and the mixture doesn't burn. Same as Angel Chicken but either way, it's terrific!! The wine gives the flavor some nice zip...curious to sub chicken broth one of these times. I originally thought it was strange to cook the mixture in a pan before putting it in the crock pot, but after doing it, I could see why. Good recipe with good instructions. Love, love, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States