Jemput Jumput (Banana Fritters) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
soooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This recipe was so easy & delicious. I added pecan chips & loved it. I made it for breakfast but would even recommend it as dessert served warm with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I opted for this recipe rather than the others because it called for less ingredients and more bananas, which makes them taste more like bananas and less doughy. I found that if the fritters were fried to just a golden brown, they were a little soft, so I let them fry a little longer to a medium brown. This made them crispier when they cooled down, and they were just as tasty. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Got left over bananas? This recipe is perfect for them! I had 4 left over bananas and hate throwing them away. I was looking for another way to use them without the usual banana bread. I'm not a big fan of frying because of all the grease but this recipe was WONDERFUL! Ok, I found that I was out of Baking Powder and I added a few drops of vanilla extract and fried a little longer because I wanted them not as soggy. They came out wonderful! I added some powered sugar on the top to garnish also. It was a BIG hit at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I thought these were awful. My husband wouldn't even touch them. I scaled down my recipe to use 4 bananas and I'm not sure what went wrong but these were nothing more than fried blobs of mushy goopy mashed banana. I tried to cook a couple extra long but then they were just burned blobs of banana. I've made tons of fritters in the past and have never had any turn out like this. I'm really surprised since there were so many good reviews...they were nothing like traditional fritters. I might try this again but would hate to waste more time and ingredients...we were really looking forward to these but they were a big dissapointment. --- The only thing I can think of is that my bananas were too ripe?? I think I will try this with some barely ripe bananas and hopefully I can post a more positive review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by c*devotchka
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
since leaving singapore, i've missed having jemput-jemput, among other foods, and seeing this recipe online inspired me to fry some! yuuuummy! only for those who love bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This recipe is delicious! I added a touch of cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter before frying and it gave it a nice flavor. When frying, I recommend only a medium flame so that the outside slowly browns while the inside has time to cook. The center should still be soft, but not mushy. Also, I like eating these with some powedered sugar sprinkled on top. Overall, I recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
My dad makes this all the time but he doesn't mash the bananas with sugar, just slices them into the batter. They are great snacks to munch on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Oliva Cox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ho Chi Minh City, Dong Nam Bo, Viet Nam
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This had really good flavor. It was very similar to a dessert we had at an authetic Indonesian restaurant. But not all of the flour mixture cooked through in the middle. It didn't alter the flavor nonetheless it was my reason for not assigning the very top rating. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I thought these were great. They were a hit with one child but the other kids didn't care for them, to my surprise. I think it's a great way to use up old bananas, and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States