Jemput Jumput (Banana Fritters) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I made a few minor adjustments to this recipe including using gluten free baking mix instead of regular flour. I cut the recipe way down since I realized how many servings it is for! There are only three in our household! Lol. I used brown sugar instead of white and fried them in coconut oil. Since I realized these were not what I consider traditional banana fritters I was happy with the outcome. They are not fluffy so if that is what you are wanting, skip this recipe. But, they have a nice banana flavor and even though you may think they are too dark let them fry to a deep brown on each side. I recommend this for anyone looking for a change to their regular fritters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I followed this recipe to the t, but had to make some changes after I fried the batter. I think the flour should be 2 5/8 cups, 5 tablespoons sugar and 1 teaspoon vanilla. After I made these changes, I tried the batter again, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Depending on how ripe or over ripe the bananas are, adjust the amount of flour used, to obtain a very very thick batter. It helps to use 2 spoons to drop neat spoonfuls of batter into the hot oil. Traditionally, sharp pointy 'tails' on the fritters are not favored. For variation, i sometimes add a couple of tablespoons of shredded/ dessicated coconut into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Weren't as tasty as I had expected. I personally preferred for mine to be golden brown and they only have to cook for around 30 sec.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by latiina
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
i had 3 very ripe bananas & no eggs or milk. this was a perfect recipe to put them to use, i just halved this recipe. i did add some cinnamon & vanilla extract. i also fried them in coconut oil. they came out well. i bet they'd be awesome with blue bell homemade vanilla ice cream, but i was not hungry when i made these. after taking out the oil i did spread some of my raw cinna honey. they were good & worth making! next time i'll make sure i'm craving sweet food & have ice cream before making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latiina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Yum!! These were excellent. I also found they were a little soft on the inside, which I wasn't expecting, so you have to be careful when frying and test them a few times first to get it right. I used overripe bananas that had been frozen. I'm sure it would work even better with fresh bananas, but it worked really well even with the frozen ones. Drizzle a little honey over them and you have yourself a serious treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This was very good. I only had a couple of bananas but it still had a nice banana flavor. I tried to make a couple of them bigger, but they were not done in the middle. I did make a light glaze to go over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
These were delicious! I let the oil become quite hot before I dropped the fritters in, so it took significantly less time to cook. I used the wok, and skipped the rum flavoring since I didn't have any around. I also sprinkled confectioner's sugar over them when they were done. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sylviasalvation

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Good flavor, but flat and sticky. Hard to fry because the fritters stuck to the bottom of the pan and the turning utensil, had to carefully free the sticky fritter from the bottom of the pan before flipping it, then had to free it from the turning utensil. 2/5 of our family liked this recipe. If I were to try to improve this recipe, I would probably add more flour and maybe an egg, and it could maybe use some more baking powder. Needs more leavening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lathrop, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
We have made this recipe several times and it is a family favorite! We cook them in coconut oil, and a 350' skillet is a must so they are crisp and tasty and not tough or chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States