Jemput Jumput (Banana Fritters) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
I opted for this recipe rather than the others because it called for less ingredients and more bananas, which makes them taste more like bananas and less doughy. I found that if the fritters were fried to just a golden brown, they were a little soft, so I let them fry a little longer to a medium brown. This made them crispier when they cooled down, and they were just as tasty. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This recipe is delicious! I added a touch of cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter before frying and it gave it a nice flavor. When frying, I recommend only a medium flame so that the outside slowly browns while the inside has time to cook. The center should still be soft, but not mushy. Also, I like eating these with some powedered sugar sprinkled on top. Overall, I recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
My dad makes this all the time but he doesn't mash the bananas with sugar, just slices them into the batter. They are great snacks to munch on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Oliva Cox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ho Chi Minh City, Dong Nam Bo, Viet Nam
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Got left over bananas? This recipe is perfect for them! I had 4 left over bananas and hate throwing them away. I was looking for another way to use them without the usual banana bread. I'm not a big fan of frying because of all the grease but this recipe was WONDERFUL! Ok, I found that I was out of Baking Powder and I added a few drops of vanilla extract and fried a little longer because I wanted them not as soggy. They came out wonderful! I added some powered sugar on the top to garnish also. It was a BIG hit at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
soooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Super easy and all my friends asked for the recipe. My bananas were just starting to ripen (had little brown freckles) so I used brown sugar instead of white. The consistency was great and the brown sugar added extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This was very good. I only had a couple of bananas but it still had a nice banana flavor. I tried to make a couple of them bigger, but they were not done in the middle. I did make a light glaze to go over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
such a simple and tasty way to finish up your banana stash! you can add spices (nutmeg, cinnamon, etc) to slightly alter the taste each time. also, i like to dip mine in sweetened condensed milk! yum : ]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This recipe was so easy & delicious. I added pecan chips & loved it. I made it for breakfast but would even recommend it as dessert served warm with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Weren't as tasty as I had expected. I personally preferred for mine to be golden brown and they only have to cook for around 30 sec.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States