Jelly-Filled Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Didn't like the texture of these muffins. Sorry, wont make again. But I do like the concept.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This is a great recipe. However I only got 10 muffins instead of 12. I also added more jelly. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
These were delicious! The recipe is so easy my 6 year old was able to help out. She especially enjoyed spooning the jelly! We used all organic ingredients, which often don't bake up quite the same as non-organic. I was a bit nervous because the batter did seem rather thick, but noticed another reviewer had the same issue. We only got 7 medium sized muffins out of the recipe. Even though the batter was thick, these muffins were the best I've ever had. I'm not usually a muffin fan, but I can't wait to have another tomorrow. My 6 year old devoured hers. One thing I did with the jelly was use the pad of my finger to make "well" for the jelly to go into (like with a "thumbprint cookie") so that the jelly wouldn't run out the side of the muffin. We eliminated the extra butter for the topping and didn't use anywhere near 3 Tablespoons of sugar (evaporated cane crystals) for a topping. We just mixed up a small amount of cinnamon and sugar and sprinkled on before baking. We also used 3 types of jelly. The one that was very smooth just bled soaked in (which was still yummy) the other jelly that had a thicker consistency with hunks of berries in it stayed more central. Next time I plan to experiment with cutting the butter to 1/4 cup (one stick) and the sugar (evaporated cane crystals) down to 1/4 cup (which another reviewer did and said the muffins still came out great). Thanks for the wonderful recipe Darlene. We will definitely be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Wow - didn't expect to be giving this recipe a 5 star rating. I am one of those people that think jelly ONLY belongs on toast because it makes things soggy. These muffins were so good right out of the oven. I made the batter just as the recipe called for, only changing the jelly flavor. I did half with homemade blueberry-raspberry jelly and the other half with store bought peach jelly. I did not have any problems with the jelly leaking out. I filled the tins (without liners) half full - used an ice tea spoon to put the jelly in the centers and then added the rest of the muffin mix. Rather than dip the muffins when they came out of the oven, I just skipped the melted butter and sprinkled the sugar/cinnamon mixture on top of the muffins before baking. The results were a delicious (non-soggy) muffin. We had company for dinner and they enjoyed them also. My regular size tins must be smaller than most as I yielded 20 muffins. My son ate the leftovers and said they were every bit as good as they were the night I made them. Thanks Darlene for a nice surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Absolutely fantastic. Only substitution, used apricot preserves (sugar free). Normally I can eyeball a recipe to "sense" if it makes enough. But, I was letting my 4 & 3 yo grandkids help, so didn't think about it. Was disappointed only made 8 muffins. But, so now, we have an excuse to make cookies tomorrow. ha ha. I did not have a problem with the batter being thick. So don't know why others did. Thanks for the recipe. I will use again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Average for our family's tastes. The jelly was barely noticable and not worth the effort. Also, the jelly tended to stick to the sides of the pan and burn. The muffin part itself needed more flavor for my family's tastes. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Darlene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Yummy! I doubled the recipe, and used blueberry preserves in 12 and homemade strawberry jam in 12. They were amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ri2
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
These were very very nice, and I got the comment 'Oh what a healthy option for those who love jelly filled doughnuts', from more than one person.The only reason I've given this 4 stars instead of 5, is because: After spoon-ing 1 teaspoon of jelly/jam at the center of each muffin, and then simply 'spoon' the remaining batter over it to reach 2/3 cups, you'd get jelly seeping out of the 'seams' / edges. So I experimented with two other ideas of filling this. The first was to fill a resealable bag with the jelly/jam, snip of the end, insert the tip into the center of a muffin cup that's been filled with 2/3 of the batter, and squeeze to fill with 1-2 teaspoons of jam / jelly. The second idea was equally successful although a little more tedious. Here, I placed the jam/jelly in the nuffin cup as stated in the recipe, then took more batter to seal the edges and prevent jam from leaking out (sort of like creating a jelly island) and then put a dab of batter over the jelly, and sealing of the seams with a knife. (I don't know if that makes sense, but it is effective and the finished muffins look lovely!). I do believe these tips are especially useful if you are working with jam instead of jelly as jam tends to be a bit more runny. I made only 1 change, and that was to cut the sugar from 1/2 cup to 1/4 cup and this was a change I made purely out of choice. :) The topping is delicious and sets off the muffin brilliantly. I baked as given @ 200C for 17 minutes. Thanks Darlene! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
These turned out very tasty, but I would make the following alterations for 5-star muffins: 1) use a full tablespoon of jelly instead of a teaspoon. The tsp of jelly flattened out and made a ribbon inside the muffin, which was nice but didn't really have that "jelly donut" turnout. I also might try injecting the jelly into the batter after spooning it into the muffin cups; this way, it can pool inside the center instead of be flattened by the batter going on top of it. 2) I would reduce oven temp to 350 degrees. Baking at 400 caused my muffins to get slightly singed on edges and bottoms and made the muffins slightly dry. I lowered the tempt to 350 about 10 minutes into baking, and I think that saved the batch from completely being ruined. Next time, will bake at 350 from the get-go. Other than these small changes, the recipe was terrific. The muffins were very flavorful and quick to whip up. A great recipe for a weekend morning when you tire of the usual french toast and pancakes for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I love these muffins and so did my children when they were small and still living at home. I made these again just the other day and changed them around some just for fun. I used about 1 3/4 c sugar, 1/4 t cinnamon, skipped the jelly and nutmeg all together and used 2 c wild blue berries and about a 1 T lemon juice. I bake them in mini muffin tins at 400 for about 10 mins. Sprinkled sugar and cinnamon on top before baking. They were so good! It made 24 mini muffins and one small mini loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laingsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States