Jelly Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I've made these several times. I turn them into peanut butter and jelly cookies by subbing half of the butter for peanut butter and I use blackberry or boysenberry jelly. They are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
What a great cookie, and so easy. I flattened them with a glass dipped in sugar then made the smaller indentation for the jelly in the center.When they were cooled and sprinkled with powdered sugar they looked and tasted just like a bakery cookie, if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Got it right the second time. Preserves worked better than jelly-the jelly was too thin and ran out of center. And parchment paper, not greased, worked better for us than a greased cookie sheet. They are Delicious! TY for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
My daughter made these for a Christmas Party and they disappeared in minutes. What we did was fill them with other preserves also ; guava is excellent. So easy to make and they have that expensive bakery look and taste. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by solideogloria07
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
i rolled out the mix into 1 inch balls, and flattened them using a water bottle cap dipped in sugar to keep the mix from sticking to the cap. the shape was perfect, and simultaneously flattened out the cookie while making a pit for the jelly. i used a blackberry/blueberry/raspberry combination preserve and orange marmalade. The orange marmalade ones were the best! which surprised me. i also did not use powdered sugar, and they were fine. very yummy cookies. only thing is that they lacked a little bit of umph, which i am not sure what, since i am not a great cook/baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
these cookies are definitely underrated, they're the best! i've tried it with guava preserves, peach preseves and stawberry preserves and they've all come out wonderfully. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
The ingredients are simple enough that you could make these for a last minute treat. You do not need to grease the cookie sheet, as these have enough butter in them to not stick to the pan. I used a round teaspoon dipped in sugar to depress the centers with before filling with the jam. These come out perfectly when baked on an airbake sheet. They tend to get too brown on the bottom if you use a regular cookie sheet. It took a while to get the bake time right, but once I did, oh WOW! Wonderfully buttery cookies! I made 2 batches, one with seedless boysenberry preserves, the other with homemade apricot jam. I preferred the apricot, and these got rave reviews at Bunco! I'm making more today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made these for my family and friends for xmas they loved them. the only change i made was to drizzle a little melted chocolate over the top. I will be making these every year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Good taste, for some reason they really flattened out on me and broke easily. But the taste was really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
I used strawberry jam instead and didn't use confectioners sugar and it still tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sniper69

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States