Jelly Bean Nests Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
just darling and very good flavor. I made 2 batches; first batch as written in the muffin tins, and found that the nests are quite thick and big. Made the second batch with the suggestion of Breeze and added a few tbsp of peanut butter. With the second batch, I just free-formed them onto parchment paper. No sticking at all, and with the fingertips wet, they were easy to mold into little nests making them a little smaller and got more out of the batch. Used 'peeps' rabbits in some, marshmallow chicks in others, and cadbury pastel chocolate eggs. I like the chocolate flavor with the nest. Love the versatility of this recipe. Could also add some butterscotch morsels to the marshmallow/butter mixture, or chocolate chips. So cute and easy! Nice presentation on the Easter goodie trays. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
What a fun recipe. I have made these for years but have always added a little peanut butter to the mixture. This has always been a big hit :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
This was a hit at my daughter's preschool Easter party. I put the jelly beans in while the noodles/marshmallow were still warm and they stayed put very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
My family loves these. The only thing that I do different is use the pastel (Easter) peanut M&M's in place of the jelly beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smoke alarm queen
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Pretty table deco! Used Rice Noodles instead of chow mein.. they are smaller. also added cocoa powder and peanut butter to the mix for some flavor, altho I thought the crispy nests a little too crispy after setting up. Hubby has been taking care of leftover nests this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smoke alarm queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Zelienople, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Super cute! Easy to make - perfect for little kitchen helpers. I thought the butter/marshmellow ratio was off. It was too greasy. I'd use half the amount of butter. One suggestion is to spray your hands with cooking oil before forming the nests. The oil will keep everything from sticking to your fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is such a cute Spring recipe. My daughter & I made these for Easter, and used Runts freckled eggs instead of jelly beans. Because some complained about the lack of taste, I added some cinnamon to the marshmallow mixture before tossing in the noodles and that added a nice flavor. These are great, and not too sweet when all the other Easter candy is available!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Adding peanut butter makes this recipe great!! My girls love it!! They even tried eating the mix right out of the bowl while I was trying to make the nests!! Using a cup cake pan was the easiest way I've found to get them to set up correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Use shredded wheat cereal..works/looks GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misdmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
These are so cute!! Perfect for making with kids!!! I put 3 jelly beans in each one, cute, cute, cute!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMCL1994

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jelly Bean Nests

Amazing little “nests” made with chow mein noodles and melted marshmallows.

Paleo Jelly Donut Cupcakes

These tasty jelly donut cupcakes are grain-, refined sugar-, and dairy-free.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States