Jelly Bean Nests Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
These are darling, and were very easy to make with my 3-yr old and his buddy. The muffin tin trick worked perfectly for them. We used broken up pretzel sticks instead of the chow mein and the salty-sweet result was so yummy. I think I will be making more of these this weekend so we have them for our Easter brunch (there's no way these ones will still be around!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
These were a blast to make with my neice and nephew. They were only okay as far as taste goes. They weren't bad, but not especiallky terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetjunkie
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I was SHOCKED at how easy these were to make! They're not the most delicious treat out there, but they sure are cute and made an excellent and impressive addition to our table at Easter brunch. Plus, the kids raved about them. The only thing I did differently was to substitute mini chocolate Robin's Eggs for the jelly beans. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetjunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by WYU001
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
These were so cute and easy to make. My son loved helping me put mini-robin eggs in the nests while they were still warm and we put a peeps chick on top too. So cute!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WYU001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
These were a blast to make with my girls...but they were really had to choke down. The girls wouldn't eat anything but the Robin's Eggs we put in them. I think I would follow previous suggestions to coat or drizzle with chocolate and maybe double the marshmallows! Otherwise, got cute pictures with the kids making them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashippun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
These are sweet little treats! They are very easy to make but unfortunately they look better than they taste. I will definitely make them again. Next time I will try adding peanut butter as someone suggested, or perhaps drizzling with chocolate, or coating in chocolate instead of marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
these were so easy to make they taste like rice krispys. followed the recesipe. but did what others did put teh jelly beans in right away and they stayed. The childred loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
These are so cute and fun to make. They taste okay, but the kids really don't care how they taste! I saw another recipe in a book with butterscotch chips, peanut butter, corn flakes and the same noodles as this recipe. I'll have to give it a try and compare them. I also like the fact that they don't require much time or many ingredients. I'll definitely keep this recipe on hand for future Easters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
just darling and very good flavor. I made 2 batches; first batch as written in the muffin tins, and found that the nests are quite thick and big. Made the second batch with the suggestion of Breeze and added a few tbsp of peanut butter. With the second batch, I just free-formed them onto parchment paper. No sticking at all, and with the fingertips wet, they were easy to mold into little nests making them a little smaller and got more out of the batch. Used 'peeps' rabbits in some, marshmallow chicks in others, and cadbury pastel chocolate eggs. I like the chocolate flavor with the nest. Love the versatility of this recipe. Could also add some butterscotch morsels to the marshmallow/butter mixture, or chocolate chips. So cute and easy! Nice presentation on the Easter goodie trays. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jelly Bean Nests

Amazing little “nests” made with chow mein noodles and melted marshmallows.

Paleo Jelly Donut Cupcakes

These tasty jelly donut cupcakes are grain-, refined sugar-, and dairy-free.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States