JELL-O® Pastel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
We LOVE this cookies! I was so excited to find the recipe online, as I remember them from my childhood. The first time I made this recipe I used Strawberry Jello and used another reviewer's idea of dipping in white chocolate. I took them to an adult-only party as dessert, and they were the hit of the night. A couple of notes:1. I only use one box of jello (in the mix), and instead of sprinking the top with jello, I dip the glass into sugar before flattening the cookies. 2. I've noticed if you use the mixer to mix all of the ingredients (except for when adding the flour mixture at the end) the cookies come out smoother and flatter. If you like a thicker, more marzipan-like cookie, only beat the butter with the mixer and mix the rest by hand. Both are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marlakay
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I'm not exactly sure how I feel about these. If half stars were available, I think I would have given them 3 1/2 stars because the flavor was just okay. But I gave them the benefit of the doubt 'cause there are some really positive notes here. First of all, prrreeettty...especially after you bite into them and see the inside. Imagine all the holiday possibilities! They were also really fast and easy and included only ingredients I'm likely to almost always have on hand. What I wasn't so impressed with - they were kind of odd. The jello gave them a subtle sour punch I'm not sure I really like in a cookie. One of my 12-year-olds only ate one and gave the rest of his to his twin sister. (In spite of my misgivings, I managed to eat all mine!) I did cherry and orange. The cherry seemed a little less sour so I liked them better. I think I would have liked them a lot better with frosting. A couple of neutral notes: I baked the first batch at 400* and when the edges had just started to brown, the bottom had already almost blackened. I turned the oven to 350* and was much happier with the results. It makes sense that other reviewers mentioned that the original recipe says to use a cookie press. The dough would really hold up well for that, or as a rolled/cut-out sugar cookie. Oh, and I forgot to press them the first time and they did not spread at all but came out exactly the same little ball shape as they went in - not that that's a bad thing, just good information.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
These were rather dry and the jello gave them a funny taste. Even the kids didn't eat these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athena2222

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Really great cookie. I made these with lime jello and dipped them in white chocolate when they cooled. I gave them as gifts to my neighbors for the holidays. Everyone raved about them. This one if a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I have been making these cookies for over 30 years! They are very good and you can use them with your cookie press. Try using the cranberry jello, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Thank you for sharing this recipe. My grandma made these when we were kids, they were my favorites. When I copied the recipe from her I missed the sugar part and hadn't quite figured it out. These are just like Grandma's!! One idea from Grams - you can make one red jello and one green then twine 2 strands together to form a candy cane - too cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Mixed these by hand, as per another reviewer's suggestion to avoid flat cookies, but they baked incredibly flat anyway. I was so excited to make these, but I am very disappointed. I could barely scrape them off of my (air-bake) cookie sheets. So Sad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Litherland

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Yummy and simple. My kids love picking out the flavor of jello and they can almost make them all by themselves now. You have to have them in red and green at Christmas - they are perfect on your cookie tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayberryGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
My family like these cookies. We really like their texture--soft but not greasy, firm but not tough. The kids like to decorate them using food color markers because they hold-up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starshipminivan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
These were so delicious!!! I baked these with strawberry jello with my nieces and nephews and we cannot got over how delicious they were!!! Will make these over and over again! I cannot wait to try other flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cocoa Pudding Mugs

See how to make adorable, edible chocolate pudding mugs!

Simple Pumpkin Napoleons

See how to make impressive but super-simple pumpkin Napoleons.

Sparkling Raspberry JIGGLERS

These fun, fruity jigglers add a bit of bling to dessert!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States