JELL-O® Pastel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Just like I remember! I only use one pkg of Jello in the cookie dough and sprinkle lightly with sugar if desired. These work great with a cookie Press!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
My mom makes these every year at Christmas with a cookie press and they are awesome! I LOVE this recipe. Just like mom makes :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These are fun little cookies--would be good with kids bc they are easy but have some fun little steps--like the flattening, that would be a good project for the little ones. They are a soft, firm cookie,with a bit of a tang from the jello, and if you don't press them down they would probably stay puffed up--they really didn't spread at all. I skipped a step by dipping the bottom of my glass in the reserved jello and then getting the additional color that way. I used lime jello for the cookies themselves then mixed fruit for the reserved jello so I could get red and green cookies for Christmas. It worked out pretty well, although I should've paid attention to the one reviewer who used food coloring--while the mixed fruit deepened to red from baking, the green is rather pale--pastel, exactly like the name of the recipe. So next time I'd probably add a bit more food coloring to the dough. Also, probably bc I dipped the glass in the reserved jello, I still have a lot of mixed fruit jello left over. I think I'll make another batch with it and decorate with icing or colored sugar instead of more jello. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I heard women in a chat room 3 years ago talking about Jell-o Cookies so I came to Allrecipe to find our how to make them. This is the first year I made them for our church bake sale. WOW a hit and them some. Thank you Jello.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I have had this recipe for years also but I have made them through a cookie press (like spritz) and it was a huge success. Everyone loves these. Make the recipe and then use your cookie press and u don't have to color them for Christmas or any other holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
My mother has been making these since I was little (Im 32!) and now I make them too. I also use the Super Shooter and use lime flavor and black cherry flavor, those seem to work the best. Oh, and strawberry banana is pretty good too. I catch hell if I dont bring a batch to work with me during the holiday season!! FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
My grandmother passed this recipe down to me from her mother. These cookies are a family tradition. For those who said that they were dry or tasted funny, try baking them for just a little shorter time. As far as the taste, try a different Jell-o flavor (we use a lot of lime, lemon and strawberry). It is amazing the neat colors and flavors you can make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Mixed these by hand, as per another reviewer's suggestion to avoid flat cookies, but they baked incredibly flat anyway. I was so excited to make these, but I am very disappointed. I could barely scrape them off of my (air-bake) cookie sheets. So Sad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Litherland

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
These are great. The kids loved them, we loved them, everyone was happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very easy for the kids to make! Especially liked the idea of making candy cane shapes! I had too much dough so I rolled the extra into tubes and refrigerated. Now I can just pull that out and slice a pan full of cookies to be made fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Cocoa Pudding Mugs

See how to make adorable, edible chocolate pudding mugs!

Simple Pumpkin Napoleons

See how to make impressive but super-simple pumpkin Napoleons.

Sparkling Raspberry JIGGLERS

These fun, fruity jigglers add a bit of bling to dessert!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States