JELL-O® Pastel Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Cookies turned out fine and they're easy to make. They are ok cookies, but I can't figure out how to tweak it to make it so that I like these more. I did 5 batches with 5 different flavors. Cherry, Berry Blue, Lime, Lemon, and Grape (grape cookies do not turn out purple). Until I can figure out how to make them better, I don't think I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My grandma made these cookies for me a long time ago, but she made them into cut outs. Grandma's recipe uses only one small box of the jello, cherry is the best. The dough is wonderful for rolling out. No frosting needed, just sprinkle sugar on them before you bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I make these every year to add a punch of color to my holiday cookie plates and also for those people who are not big chocolate fans (I know, can you believe it?) I always use the cherry flavor because the red is nice and bold. The lime tastes funny to me, I wish there was another green choice, but oh well. What I have done in the past, instead of sprinkling the reserved jell-o, I mix a little powdered sugar in with some water and make a little icing. you can drizzle, half dip or do something cute on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northlake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Definitely have the flavor of the gelatin used. I used apricot and they had a nice fruity tang but my kids didn't like them. I rolled them in a bit of remaining gelatin and green sugar. They are pretty for a spring party. Would be interested in trying different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I did cherry jello and used almond extract instead of the vanilla and they were great! I also did lime jello, they looked very festive for Christmas, but hubby thought it was weird having lime cookies! They were very yummy and easy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Yummy and simple. My kids love picking out the flavor of jello and they can almost make them all by themselves now. You have to have them in red and green at Christmas - they are perfect on your cookie tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayberryGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I love cookies but i didnt like these. they taste bland and weird. I was expecting somthing better from all the good reviews but they just taste funky to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I make something very, very similar. Use shortening instead of butter and sprinkle with sugar on top of cookie before baking instead of more jello. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I really like these! They were a lot of fun for my 2 year old to help but they can get very messy with a toddler. I halved the recipe but used one egg and it turned out great, and made exactly 15 2 inch cookies! I took the advice of another reviewer and cooked at 350 for 10 min. I also dipped the cup in sugar before flattening them. Oh and I made mine with cherry Jello and used Almond extract instead of vanilla. I am excited to try lemon next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houston_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marlakay
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I'm not exactly sure how I feel about these. If half stars were available, I think I would have given them 3 1/2 stars because the flavor was just okay. But I gave them the benefit of the doubt 'cause there are some really positive notes here. First of all, prrreeettty...especially after you bite into them and see the inside. Imagine all the holiday possibilities! They were also really fast and easy and included only ingredients I'm likely to almost always have on hand. What I wasn't so impressed with - they were kind of odd. The jello gave them a subtle sour punch I'm not sure I really like in a cookie. One of my 12-year-olds only ate one and gave the rest of his to his twin sister. (In spite of my misgivings, I managed to eat all mine!) I did cherry and orange. The cherry seemed a little less sour so I liked them better. I think I would have liked them a lot better with frosting. A couple of neutral notes: I baked the first batch at 400* and when the edges had just started to brown, the bottom had already almost blackened. I turned the oven to 350* and was much happier with the results. It makes sense that other reviewers mentioned that the original recipe says to use a cookie press. The dough would really hold up well for that, or as a rolled/cut-out sugar cookie. Oh, and I forgot to press them the first time and they did not spread at all but came out exactly the same little ball shape as they went in - not that that's a bad thing, just good information.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hot Cocoa Pudding Mugs

See how to make adorable, edible chocolate pudding mugs!

Simple Pumpkin Napoleons

See how to make impressive but super-simple pumpkin Napoleons.

Sparkling Raspberry JIGGLERS

These fun, fruity jigglers add a bit of bling to dessert!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States