JELL-O Magic Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
One of my most favorite desserts ever. This takes me way back to when Grandma would make this for me when I was a kid. It never really lost it's magic for me. EDITED: I now make this "lighter", using sugar free gelatin and either sugar free whipped topping or "light" whipped topping. It tastes exactly the same but with less calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
My mother made this for me when I had all of my wisdom teeth removed, but now I crave it all the time! It's super-easy and tasty. I love it. We refer to it as "fluffy jell-o" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I find it funny to rate jello five stars! But, for what it is, it's a great recipe. I used strawberry jello and prepared in individual serving sundae dishes. My boyfriend wolfed his first one down, got another one out of the fridge, and ate that one before I had finished my first. Alas, five stars it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I halved this recipe but completely failed to halve the cool whip along with it. In fact, now that I'm looking at the recipe I managed to halve the jello and water and quadruple the amount of cool whip in this since I used the entire container of cool whip. I didn't have any cool whip left over to top the stuff. Big oops. But, happily, apparently bf really likes the combo of jello and cool whip (I made a very similar recipe a few weeks ago--without halving the jello!--and he loved that too). It ended up being a tiny bottom layer of jello and and large top layer of mousse-like jello. Very much a hit in our house. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
i love jello, and i love cool whip, so i figured this recipe would be ideal. unfortunately, even after trying this recipe a few times with different flavors, i kept finding the same results: while the jello mousse tastes delicious, it leaves a weird, slimy mouthfeel afterwards. it almost felt greasy. i guess there truly are no shortcuts in life. if you want something quick and cheap, make this magic mousse. if you are craving real mousse, you might not want this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Like others, I've been making this recipe for years. I find that it mixes and pours better in a blender. I have made it with 8-oz. Cool Whip--it works with small layer of topping..still good. Orange is a favorite flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I don't have the 6 glass bowls, so I just used a large glass bowl sprayed with cooking spray. My picture looks really ugly and the color looks weird, but it was really good. Very easy to make and looks pretty cool too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I made this and I was amazed at how simple and good it turned out but a few of the people that tried it said they didn't care for the top cool whip/jello mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This dessert is fun and tasty! My mother taught me to make this about 30+ years ago, when Jello stopped making a product called Jello 1-2-3. I will definitely make this delightful dessert often this summer! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I was looking for different ways to make jello. Since my mom and I had gastric surgery and thats one of the few things we could eat, I wanted other ways to make it for the rest of the family so they wouldn't get bored of the same thing and they loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sparkling Raspberry JIGGLERS

These fun, fruity jigglers add a bit of bling to dessert!

Raspberry Pavlova

This beautiful and impressive fresh fruit dessert is so easy to make.

PB and J Cupcakes

Turn an all-time favorite sandwich into a spectacular dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States