Jeff's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Was looking for something to do with sweet Italian turkey sausage links my husband bought with no particular plan. Used 1.22 lbs. sausage, no beef. Didn't have celery in the house. Substituted one can seasoned diced tomatoes for chili sauce. Was a TASTY meal using what we had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephenie Labandz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Amazing and delicious. I made it just the way the recipe suggested. The whole family loved it! The sausage mixed with the beef is awesome - don't leave that out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I have been obsessed with finding the real "sloppy joe's recipe" they serve at the restaurant in Key West. This one is the closest to the real deal I have found. Yummy- I added a little of cumin, dry mustard and small dash of cinnamon. I also left out the celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I wasn't going to rate it because I had to substitute with what I had on hand, but the site won't let me just leave a review. This was delicious. I used about a cup of ketchup instead of the chili sauce. It was mild, just the way I like it. I also used balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar. I drained most of the fat after sauteeing the beef as well. Everything else was the same. My nephew said they were the best sloppy joes he's ever had and wanted thirds. My kids usually get picky when they see little flecks of green, but I chopped all of the ingredients super fine with a Pampered Chef hand chopper and they had no idea they were eating green stuff. They ate it up. 5 star flavor for the way we made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hamish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
The family agrees, 5 stars all the way!! I admit I was worried about not using the canned stuff but we are trying to eat more things made from scratch, and I hapened to have a bottle of chili sauce on hand! I warned everyone not to complain if they didn't like it but before I knew it they were going for seconds! Served on homemade buns and with tater rounds. Yummmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This is a fantastic Sloppy Joe recipe. I've made it several times now for friends and family and it was a huge hit. I did not find the recipe to be at all spicy so I added some chipotle powder which gave it a nice kick. I also used a full pound of Italian sausage (mostly because I could only find it in 1 lb packages) which turned out very well without having to increase any other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Made it for a moving party for my family. Everyone loved it and said it was a "keeper recipe". Made it according to directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
REALLY good - decreased the hot sauce a bit out of deference to small children's palates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I made exactly as stated. I didn't think these were spicy at all. Tangy maybe. Yummy definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I love the combination of Italian sausage and ground beef. I was hungry for Sloppy Joes and since I normally buy the canned stuff which I don't have on hand, I decided to try this recipe. I had to make homemade chili sauce because it is something I've never purchased and it had brown sugar in it. I wish I'd left out the additional brown sugar in the recipe because overall the meat was too sweet. But that was my fault. I'm not sure this was a big hit because of the sweetness but maybe I'll tweak it more next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States