Jeff's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I love the combination of Italian sausage and ground beef. I was hungry for Sloppy Joes and since I normally buy the canned stuff which I don't have on hand, I decided to try this recipe. I had to make homemade chili sauce because it is something I've never purchased and it had brown sugar in it. I wish I'd left out the additional brown sugar in the recipe because overall the meat was too sweet. But that was my fault. I'm not sure this was a big hit because of the sweetness but maybe I'll tweak it more next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
After my helpful (but somewhat unthinking) teenage son defrosted FOUR pounds of ground beef for me -- What was he thinking?!!!! -- I was scrambling for ways to use it up, and I came across this recipe. Since I absolutely love chili sauce ("Grama's Sweet Chili Sauce" is my favorite), this was an easy choice. With the exception of using "orange" bell pepper and apple cider vinegar (what I had on hand), and only using half as much (hot) Italian sausage (again, what I had on hand), I followed the recipe (4x!). This was DELICIOUS the first night, and now, about two weeks later, after defrosting the first of two batches that I froze (remember-- I had four pounds of ground beef to work with!), it is even better! So I can attest that this freezes beautifully and is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONYA2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I love this recipe because it has celery, and it uses real vinegar, not white vinegar which is a cleaning agent & really is not safe for human consumption. A recipe is a guide... not an absolute.... I also don't understand how Sloppy Joes can possibly be made without celery. I was appalled by the top ratings for some of these (thrown together processed foods) recipes. I am getting away from processed foods, that is why I was looking for "from scratch recipes". And people saying the kids don't like peppers so I leave them out... Are you kidding me????? I add all kinds of extra veggies: carrots, swiss chard, Brussels sprouts, spinach, string beans, and/or etc. Everything I don't like I puree in the blender, to add as sauce base. Never know they are there, but I am adding all those essential nutrients Dr Oz says I should be eating every day. Also I don't have time to chop everything... so pureeing everything is so much faster for everyday. If I am bringing to a pot luck I will chop the basics, and have a combination of chopped &/or puree. I use all kinds of ground (or just chopped) meats, also. Don't like spicy heat either, so I leave it out. This, "Jeff's Sloppy Joes" is the recipe I decided on as my base recipe. I never make anything the same twice, I am always amending by as to what I have on hand each time I make a recipe. I also make a big batch, and separate into containers to freeze for future meals. Great recipe Thanks Jeff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by touchedpainter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and thought it was wonderful! The sausage added a nice flavor. Next time I will probably try hot sausage to add a bit of more kick - Thanks Jeff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
tasty and different, because of the chili sauce, i added mushroom soup, because I thought it was too runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very good, I doubled the recipe to accommodate my guest. I made them into little sliders and everyone loved them! I gave my picky husband a little to try and he came over in the kitchen and just starred at me with this smirk, I ask "what's wrong"? He said" "can I slap you"? I started laughing. It surprised me cause he is the pickiest person I've ever known. I will be making this again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UNIQUENESS2

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is a really good recipe that I altered a bit for my personal taste. Now I don't care for celery so I omitted it and slightly increased the green pepper & chopped onion. Quite delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gregory

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: San Juan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
chili sauce is usually found in the aisle with ketchup etc. (for Deborah) It looks like ketchup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
added a little cayenne pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States